< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Tri-nations T20I series confirmed for April 2021

Scott Edwards in action
Scott Edwards in action

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) is delighted to announce a Tri-Nations T20I series, to be played in the Kathmandu, from 17th – 24th April 2021.

Nepal, The Netherlands and Malaysia will compete in the Bajaj Pulsar Tri-Nations Series, Strength Partner Shivam Cement. The series will be a double round-robin, with the top two teams contending the final. All matches will be played at Tribhuvan University cricket ground.

Following the reduction in Covid cases and resumption of domestic competitions since December 2020, it is an ideal time to bring back international cricket to Nepal. The spring weather also presents excellent cricket conditions in Kathmandu.

Players and match officials will be in a bio-secure bubble, and PCR testing shall be conducted for all players and officials.

Chatur Bahadur Chand, President of the CAN: “I would like to thank both Netherlands Cricket and Malaysia Cricket for working closely in a very short duration to get this series happening. We are delighted to announce the return of International Cricket in Nepal.”

Ryan Campbell, national coach Netherlands men’s XI KNCB: “After not playing since November 2019, I am overjoyed at the announcement of the Tri-Nations Series in Nepal. The boys have worked so hard for over a year with so much uncertainty on when our next match will be. Playing Nepal and Malaysia in Nepal will present us with an extremely tough re-entry into World Cricket, but it is a challenge we are very much looking forward to.”

Mahinda Vallipuram, President MCA: “It is indeed very pleasing to see the revival of international cricket, after a year-long drought in international tournaments. The last international match in which our team played, was in 2020 between the end of February - early March, at the T20 ACC Eastern Region in Thailand. This International Tri-Series between Nepal, Netherlands and Malaysia is therefore a morale booster for our national team, as we roll on back to playing in international tournaments. Nepal and Malaysia share a friendly affiliation and I am confident of Nepal putting up a winning tournament. Nepal is a great cricket country and Malaysia is happy to in Nepal to restart our international journey! We thank CAN for the opportunity”.

The Netherlands Squad

Pieter Seelaar (VOC) , Tobias Visée (HBS), Ben Cooper (VRA), Max O’Dowd (VOC), Bas de Leede (VCC), Vikramjit Singh (VRA), Scott Edwards (VOC), Aryan Dutt (VCC), Philippe Boissevain (VCC), Paul van Meekeren (UK), Vivian Kingma (VCC), Tonny Staal (HCC), Sebastiaan Braat (Hermes DVS), Julian de Mey (HBS)

Coach Ryan Campbell on the squad: “After such a long break between international fixtures, the squad selected represents the future of Dutch cricket. I am extremely happy to announce Aryan Dutt, our U19 allrounder, will join Vikram Singh as our two youngest tourists. These two are exciting prospects.

Aryan can bowl off-spin, medium-pace, as well as being a really special batting prospect and we all have already seen what talent Vikram has. Those two will also be joined by our very talented youngsters Bas de Leede and Philippe Boissevain.

With the decision made not to take any of our County players, this has given us an opportunity to re-introduce Viv Kingma and Sebastiaan Braat into our bowling stocks and we will be looking to see how they adapt to sub-continent conditions.”

© Cricket World 2021