< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Tshwane Spartans win last ball thriller against Paarl Rocks by 1 run

Happy AB de Villiers as Tshwane Spartans win
Boland Park, Paarl

Paarl Rocks won the toss and decided to bowl at Boland Park, Paarl against the Tshwane Spartans in the 4th match of the Mzansi Super League 2018 today.

Match Summary

Tshwane Spartans 203 – 5 (Gihahn Cloete 80, Theunis de Bruyn 66; Dwayne Bravo 3-31, Dane Paterson 2-45 )

Paarl Rocks  202-6 (Cameron Delport 73; Jeevan Mendis 2-35)

Result - Tshwane Spartans win by 1 run

Tshwane Spartans got off to flying start with Gihahn Cloete 80 and Theunis de Bruyn 66 putting on 100 in the first 10 overs.  AB de Villiers chipped in with 32 to give Tshwane Spartans an impressive 203-5 off their 20 overs. Dwayne Bravo 3-31 was the pick of the Paarl Rocks bowlers.

In reply, Paarl Rocks just missed out on an amazing run chase by 1 run - Cameron Delport 73 led the charge, ably supported by Patrick Kruger and Mangaliso Mosehle in the latter stages. It was probably Dean Elgar that saved the match on the boundary, by stopping a six in the last over for Tshwane Spartans and Paarl Rocks lost out by 1 run.

Paarl Rocks - Henry Davids(c), Michael Klinger, Cameron Delport, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Dwayne Bravo, Patrick Kruger, Mangaliso Mosehle(wk), Grant Thomson, Dane Paterson, Kerwin Mungroo, Bjorn Fortuin

Tshwane Spartans - Tony de Zorzi, Gihahn Cloete(wk), Dean Elgar, AB de Villiers(c), Theunis de Bruyn, Rilee Rossouw, Robbie Frylinck, Rory Kleinveldt, Jeevan Mendis, Lutho Sipamla, Andrew Birch

©Cricket World 2018