< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Turkish Cricket Federation sign partnership with European Cricket League

ECN/Turkish Cricket Federation
ECN/Turkish Cricket Federation
©ECN/Turkish Cricket Federation

European Cricket League (ECL) is proud to announce that the Turkey Developing Sports Branches Federation Cricket Branch (Turkish Cricket Federation - TCF) has signed a long-term partnership ensuring that Turkey’s domestic champion club in 2021 will be invited to ECL22 - the Champions League of European cricket.

“In dealing with Senol Zobooglu, Hasan Sabit Alta and their team to progress this agreement over past months, it’s clear that they care deeply for the development and growth of the game in Turkey. I am so excited about where they will take cricket in Turkey in years to come, and to also see the impact of the ECL on their domestic cricket in the coming seasons,” said Daniel Weston, Founder of the European Cricket League.

“I can see a genuine chance that Turkey has the potential to shock the cricket world, changing the landscape of summer sport in its own country forever."

Senol Zobooglu, TCF International Coordinator, said: "The TCF is thrilled to join the growing family of ECL cricket countries in Europe and to give our beautiful game its deserved visibility. We are happy to start our journey with Daniel and his team. During our negotiations we were impressed by their professionalism and enthusiasm for the game, which gives us strong confidence in the success of the venture.

“I would like to thank all my fellow Board members, especially Hasan Sabit Alta, TCF Chairman for their dedication and time invested in preparations. We as the TCF Board will do all in our power to use this cooperation to boost domestic participation and to map out a clear future path for the younger generation of cricketers, hopefully attracting more and more native Turks to the game."

The second-staging of the European Cricket League - ECL21 - will take place from May 30 – June 25 in Spain, featuring 16 champion teams from 15 countries across Europe, including England, Scotland, Ireland and the Netherlands.

©Cricket World 2021