Two Changes As Ireland Name WT20 Squad

Eimear Richardson
Eimear Richardson is back in Ireland's squad for the ICC Women's World Twenty20 in Bangladesh
©International Cricket Council

Trent Johnston, the recently appointed Irish Women’s head coach, has named a 14-player squad for next month’s ICC Women's World Twenty20 in Bangladesh.

It will be Ireland’s first appearance at an ICC event for nearly a decade as they look to emulate the achievements of their male counterparts.

The squad shows two changes from the one that participated in the recently concluded Twenty20 and One-Day International triangular series in Qatar. All-rounders Eimear Richardson and Kim Garth return to the set-up after missing the trip to the United Arab Emirates with Rebecca Rolfe and Amy Kenealy dropping out.

Richardson, who has spent the winter playing in New Zealand, is one of several experienced members of a squad that also contains plenty of youth. Captain Isobel Joyce, twin sister Cecilia and opening batter Clare Shillington have all played in a World Cup before, but this is Ireland’s first time at the shorter-format edition.

Ireland booked their place in Bangladesh after finishing third in the qualifying tournament last August, which was held in Dublin.

The extended 30-player group have undergone a stringent training regime in the past few weeks in preparation for the tournament under the tutelage of Johnston and former England Women’s Head Coach Mark Lane.

However, the former Ireland all-rounder admitted the decision to whittle down the squad was a near-impossible task.

"Without a shadow of a doubt, picking a squad to go to a 20-over World Cup, and then have to tell the players who've missed out is one of the hardest things I've ever had to do," he said.

"I suppose like most squads, 10 names picked themselves, but there was a lot of agonising over those last four places. I then spoke with the whole squad of 30 because I felt it was important for me to let them know personally, and explain why they hadn't made the final cut."

Johnston, who took over the reigns from Jeremy Bray in January after he hung up his bowling boots after an illustrious career, has little coaching experience but has already guided the side to a famous victory over Pakistan.

Isobel Joyce, the younger sister of Sussex skipper Ed, played a starring role in the six-wicket victory with both bat and ball and is looking forward playing in her second ICC event. The 32-year-old featured in the 1999 Women’s World Cup as a teenager.

"The final weeks in the run up to departure will no doubt be just as tough but we're enjoying the challenge and looking for every one percent of improvement we can to prepare more fully for Bangladesh.

"We can't wait for the action to begin, and we all believe there are exciting times ahead for the squad and Irish cricket," the Irish captain explained.

Ireland begin their campaign on 25th March in Sylhet against New Zealand before facing Australia, South Africa and Pakistan.

Ireland ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Squad: Isobel Joyce (captain), Laura Delany, Emma Flanagan, Kim Garth, Jennifer Gray, Cecelia Joyce, Louise McCarthy, Kate McKenna, Lucy O'Reilly, Eimear Richardson, Melissa Scott-Hayward, Clare Shillington, Elena Tice, Mary Waldron.

© Cricket World 2014

Group A: Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa Group B: Bangladesh, England, India, Sri Lanka, West Indies Fixtures & Results
23rd March: Australia v New Zealand
New Zealand Women 128-8 (Perkins 31) beat
Australia Women 121 (Blackwell 31) by 7 runs
23rd March: Pakistan v South Africa
South Africa Women 163-0 (van Niekerk 90no) beat
Pakistan Women 119-9 (Kapp 3-16) by 44 runs
24th March: England v West Indies
West Indies Women 133-7 (Taylor 56) beat
England Women 124-9 (Dottin 4-12) by 9 runs
24th March: India v Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka Women 128-8 (Atapattu 43) beat
India Women 106-9 (Prabodhani 2-9) by 22 runs
25th March: Ireland v New Zealand
New Zealand Women 171-3 (Bates 68) beat
Ireland Women 129-4 (C Joyce 41no) by 41 runs
25th March: Australia v South Africa
Australia Women 116-4 (Perry 41no) beat
South Africa Women 115-9 by six wickets
26th March: Bangladesh v West Indies
West Indies Women 115 (Dottin 34) beat
Bangladesh Women 79 (Quintyne 3-5) by 36 runs
26th March: England v India
England Women 98-5 (Taylor 28) beat
India Women 95-9 (Raj 57) by five wickets
27th March: Australia v Ireland
Australia Women 191-4 (Lanning 126) beat
Ireland Women 113-7 (Perry 2-17) by 78 runs
27th March: New Zealand v Pakistan
New Zealand Women 167-3 (Bates 94no) beat
Pakistan Women 108-7 by 59 runs
28th March: Bangladesh v England
England Women 137-5 (Edwards 80) beat
Bangladesh Women 58-9 (Hazell 3-4) by 79 runs
28th March: Sri Lanka v West Indies
West Indies Women 87-2 (Taylor 56no) beat
Sri Lanka Women 84 (Daley 4-15) by 8 wickets
29th March: Ireland v South Africa
South Africa Women 165-5 (Lee 43) beat
Ireland Women 79 (Ismail 3-5) by 86 runs
29th March: Australia v Pakistan
Australia Women 185-2 (Villani 90no) beat
Pakistan Women 91-9 (Perry 3-12) by 94 runs
30th March: Bangladesh v India
India Women 151-4 (Kaur 77, Raj 41) beat
Bangladesh Women 72-8 by 79 runs
30th March: England v Sri Lanka
England Women 86-3 (Taylor 36) beat
Sri Lanka Women 85-9 by seven wickets
31st March: Ireland v Pakistan
Pakistan Women 119-6 (Bismah Maroof 48no) beat
Ireland Women 105 (A Iqbal 3-18) by 14 runs
31st March: New Zealand v South Africa
South Africa Women 116-5 (du Preez 51) beat
New Zealand Women 114-9 by 5 wickets
1st April: Bangladesh v Sri Lanka
Bangladesh Women 115-9 (R Ahmed 41) beat
Sri Lanka Women 112-9 by three runs
1st April: India v West Indies
India Women 121-1 (Raut 56, Raj 55no) beat
West Indies 117-7 (Dottin 57) by nine wickets
3rd April: Semi-Final
Australia Women 140-5 (Villani 35) beat
West Indies Women 132-4 by 8 runs
4th April: Semi-Final
England Women 102-1 (Taylor 44no) beat
South Africa Women 101 by nine wickets
6th April: Final - Australia v England
Australia Women 106-4 (Lanning 44) beat
England Women 105-8 (Coyte 3-16) by 6 wickets