< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Two Dream11 European cricket series events postponed

©Dream11 European Cricket Series

The European Cricket Network (ECN) regrettably announces the postponement of two Dream11 European Cricket Series events scheduled for the coming weeks in Spain due to fears about the transmission of COVID-19 (coronavirus).

Dream11 European Cricket Series Barcelona was due to start on Monday, with Dream European Cricket Series Catalunya following from March 23-27 at Montjuic within six-hitting distance to the Barcelona 1992 Olympic venue.

However, due to a Spanish government directive to refrain from mass gatherings amid fears about the transmission of COVID-19 (coronavirus), these two events are postponed.

Daniel Weston, ECS Founder said: “Due to significant uncertainty based on public health concerns for players, officials and staff. We have been forced to postpone the upcoming two Dream11 European Cricket Series events in Spain.”

A travel ban is in place and the local Spanish government have also suspended events to be held at the venue.

“We are very mindful of the understandable government concerns regarding travel and public events and must play our part in keeping everyone safe and healthy as a number one priority. We remain committed to growing cricket in all corners of Europe in the months ahead when circumstances permit.”

At this stage, the second-staging of the European Cricket League, dubbed “the Champions League of European cricket”, will go ahead as scheduled.

ECL20 will be played from May 31- June 7, 2020 at the La Manga Club in Spain, featuring 16 champion clubs from 15 different countries over eight days of T10 action.

The second-staging of the tournament - ECL20 – promises to be even bigger and better. Due to huge interest and demand for the competition, ECL20 has doubled its number of champion teams to 16, including the champions of England, Ireland and Scotland. V.O.C. Rotterdam were crowned Kings of European cricket when they won the first edition of the European Cricket League (ECL19) at La Manga Club in Spain.

©Cricket World 2020