Two More Teams To Qualify For Women's WT20

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka players pictured together - both will be battling for one of three spots at the ICC Women's World Twenty20 2014
©ICC Media

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed that two more teams will feature in the ICC Women's World Twenty20 2014 necessitating changes to this year's qualifying event in Ireland.

The event will still run from 23rd to 31st July but instead of a Super Four stage, the top four teams will now play semi-finals and a third/fourth place play-off, which will determine the final qualifier.

Eight teams will converge in Dublin as Canada, Japan, Netherlands, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Zimbabwe join the hosts in two groups of four.

The top two sides will now progress to the semi-final stage with the remaining two teams in each group entering the Shield event which will determine final placings from fifth to eighth.

ICC Women's World T20 QualifierTop seeds Pakistan and Sri Lanka will start as favourites but the extra qualifying spot guarantees that at least one team will appear at the 2014 event for the first time.

The ICC will be live streaming the final two days of the competition including both semi-finals, the third/fourth place play-off and the final.

ICC World Twenty20 2014 Qualifier Schedule


Group A – Pakistan (1), Netherlands (4), Thailand (5), Zimbabwe (8)
Group B – Sri Lanka (2), Ireland (3), Canada (6), Japan (7)

Group stage

Tuesday, 23 July

Ireland v Japan (am), The Hills
Netherlands v Zimbabwe (am), YMCA
Sri Lanka v Canada (pm), The Hills
Pakistan v Thailand (pm), YMCA

Thursday, 25 July

Thailand v Netherlands (am), The Hills
Canada v Ireland (am), Merrion
Zimbabwe v Pakistan (pm), The Hills
Japan v Sri Lanka (pm) Merrion

Saturday, 27 July

Thailand v Zimbabwe (am) The Hills
Pakistan v Netherlands (am), Merrion
Japan v Canada (pm), The Hills
Ireland v Sri Lanka, (pm), Merrion


Monday, 29 July

Trophy semi-final 1: A1 v B2 (am), YMCA (broadcast match)
Trophy semi-final 2: A2 v B1 (pm), YMCA (broadcast match)
Shield semi-final 1: A3 v B4 (am), Malahide
Shield semi-final 1: A4 v B# (pm), Malahide


Wednesday, 31 July

Trophy final (am), YMCA – both finalists progress to the ICC World Twenty20 2014 (broadcast match)
Trophy 3rd v 4th play-off (pm), YMCA – the winner progresses to the ICC World Twenty20 2014 (broadcast match)
Shield final (am), Malahide
Shield 7th v 8th play-off (pm), Malahide

© Cricket World 2013