< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Two Potential Debutants Named for Shield Opener

Two Potential Debutants Named for Shield Opener
Two Potential Debutants Named for Shield Opener

Top-order batsman Henry Hunt, and fast bowler Wes Agar could debut in South Australia's Marsh Sheffield Shield opener against Victoria starting next Thursday.

Hunt, 22, was recruited this year as a rookie after a standout Toyota Futures League campaign with ACT/NSW country, where he made 737 runs at an average of 46.06 and a high score of 208.

The right-hander also made another four half-centuries in the second XI competition, to mark his spot as the leading run-scorer.

Right-arm quick Wes Agar has also had a strong pre-season since returning from Victoria, earning two more one-day caps in games against Queensland and Tasmania.

“We recruited Henry as an opening batter who has dominated in the second XI competition so we are excited to see what he can do in first-class cricket,” West End Redbacks Head Coach Jamie Siddons said.

“Wes has looked quite impressive in the pre-season and he adds pace and bounce to our attack, so we are pumped to have him in his first Shield team.”

Tom Cooper has earned a recall to the Shield side after showing strong pre-season and Marsh One-Day Cup form.

Chadd Sayers and Joe Mennie are not included in the travelling squad. Sayers has returned to full intensity bowling since sustaining a lower back injury last month but is not yet available for selection, while Mennie is recovering from a hamstring strain.

Daniel Worrall is also back bowling with the possibility that he could make his return to competitive cricket by the Marsh Cup match on November 17.

Opening batsman Conor McInerney has only recently recovered from a broken arm and Saturday will be his first competitive game for Premier Cricket side Woodville.

The match begins at 10:30am (local) at CitiPower Centre (Junction Oval).

South Australia’s 12-player squad
Travis Head (c)
Wes Agar
Tom Andrews
Alex Carey
Tom Cooper
Henry Hunt
Jake Lehmann
Kane Richardson
Luke Robins
Jake Weatherald
Nick Winter
Adam Zampa

Official Cricket Australia Website
Official Cricket Australia Website