< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

UAE capitulate as India register massive win

UAE capitulate as India register massive win
Bhuvneshar Kumar registered figures of eight for two in his four overs.
©REUTERS / Action Images

India 82-1 (Sharma 39) beat
United Arab Emirates 81-9 (Anwar 43) by nine wickets
Ninth match, Asia Cup, Mirpur

After restricting United Arab Emirates to 81 for nine in 20 overs, India made short work of the target by chasing it down in 10.1 overs, securing a massive nine wicket victory in the ninth match of the 2016 Asia Cup in Mirpur.

UAE won the toss and opted to bat first on a pitch that sported a green tinge. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2-8) bowled a tight line up front and conceded two back to back maiden overs while accounting for the dismissal of Swapnil Patil (1).

A few minutes later, Jasprit Bumrah (1-23) got Mohammad Shahzad (0) to edge a delivery to Suresh Raina in the slips. After the end of the powerplay, UAE were positioned at 21 for two.

Harbhajan Singh (1-11) too started off with a maiden over while Hardik Pandya (1-11) got Rohan Mustafa (11) to chip a catch to Virat Kohli in the covers.

Another tight over from Harbhajan saw UAE being restricted to 32 for three at the halfway mark. In his very first over on debut, Pawan Negi (1-16) got Muhammad Usman (9) to hole out to long off while Harbhajan saw the back of Amjad Javed (0), who tamely lobbed a catch to midwicket.

UAE lost Muhammad Kaleem (2) and Fahad Tariq (3) in successive overs and went on to lose two more wickets in the final over while managing to post a total of 81 for nine off 20 overs.

Shaiman Anwar’s (43) knock was the only saving grace for UAE. Kumar was the best bowler with two wickets and an economy of two runs per over.

Rohit Sharma (39) got the chase underway with a boundary but Shikhar Dhawan (16 not out) had a lucky escape when he survived a caught behind appeal even as the replays indicated a clear noise.

Sharma scored seven boundaries and a six in his 28-ball knock before being caught at third man off Qadeer Ahmed (1-23) as India managed to score 43 for one in the powerplay.

It took India just over four more overs to complete the chase. Dhawan played the patient knock while Yuvraj Singh (25 not out) smashed a six and three fours in his 13-ball cameo.

India raced away to a nine-wicket victory in 10.1 overs with Yuvraj lending the finishing touch with a boundary.

This was India’s biggest victory margin in terms of balls remaining in T20Is. Sharma was the man of the match for his knock at the top of the order.

© Cricket World 2016