< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

UAE D10: Sharjah seals a perfect day with win over Ajman

Fayyaz Ahmad with the Man of the Match Award
Fayyaz Ahmad with the Man of the Match Award
©UAE D10
Fayyaz Ahmad strikes a big blow
Fayyaz Ahmad strikes a big blow
©UAE D10

Sharjah Bukhatir XI registered their second win of Thursday with a comprehensive 45-run win over Ajman Alubond in the Emirates D10 tournament.

Match Summary-Sharjah Bukhatir XI v Ajman Alubond Match 20

Sharjah Bukhatir XI 155-3 (10)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (Khalid Shah-0.6 ov), 2-90 (Renjith Mani-4.6 ov), 3-142 (Umair Ali-9.3 ov)

Ajman Alubond 110-5 (10)
Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Ameer Hamza, 1.6 ov), 2-28 (Zawar Farid-2.2 ov), 3-49 (Sandy Sandeep-3.3 ov), 4-78 (Omer Farooq-6.6), 5-84 (Sapandeep Singh-7.2 ov) 

Result-Sharjah Bukhatir XI won by 45 runs


Asked to bat first, Sharjah posted an impressive 155 for three in their 10 overs. The star with the bat for Sharjah were opener Renjith Mani (60: 19b, 6x4, 5x6) and man of the match skipper Fayyaz Ahmad (58 not out: 23b, 3x4, 6x6).

The pair of Mani and Ahmad added 83 runs for the second wicket to lay the foundation for Sharjah. Umair Ali (28) was the other major contributor for Sharjah with the bat.

In their chase Ajman Alubond lost wickets at regular intervals to detail the chase. Sapandeep Singh (29) was the highest scorer for Ajman. There were contributions from Abdul Shakoor (20 not out), Zawar Farid (18) and Omer Farooq (18). But that was never enough as the scoring rate never quite matched up to the task at hand. The Sharjah bowlers bowled effectively without being penetrative, yet managed to seal a perfect Thursday for the side.

The tournament now takes a two-day break to celebrate Islamic festival of Eid-Al-Adha. Action will now resume on Sunday.


Sharjah Bukhatir XI: Ali Anwaar, Fayyaz Ahmad (captain), Gk Gkrishnan, Hazrat Bilal, Junaid Shamzu, Khalid Shah, Muhammad Farooq, Renjth Mani, Rizwan Cp, Syam Ramesh, Umair Ali

Ajman Alubond: Abdul Shakoor, Ali Mirza, Ameer Hamza, Anand Kumar, Mohammad Azhar, Nasir Aziz (captain), Omer Farooq, Sandy Sandeep, Sapandeep Singh, Shareef Asadullah, Zawar Farid

©Cricket World 2020