< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Umar Akmal returns to Pakistan T20I squad

Umar Akmal returns to Pakistan T20I squad
Umar Akmal will replace Ifthikhar Ahmed in the Pakistan T20I squad to face England.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Pakistan selectors have decided to include Umar Akmal in the Twenty20 International squad to face England in a three-match series in the United Arab Emirates.

Akmal was earlier excluded from the T20I squad after he was issued a show cause notice by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for involving in unethical activities in a party. 

However, the PCB’s security and vigilance department has cleared Akmal after launching an investigation into the incident, as detailed by an official media release.

"Subsequent to his being cleared by the inquiry initiated by the PCB's security and vigilance department with regard to media reports of an incident in Hyderabad, Umar Akmal has been inducted in the T20Is squad against England,” said the PCB media release. 

To make place for Akmal, the selectors have withdrawn Iftikhar Ahmed from the squad whereas all-rounder Imad Wasim has also been excluded after failing to recover from the finger injury.

Wasim picked up the injury in a domestic match last month and according to the PCB’s head of medical and sports sciences, Sohail Saleem, the 26-year-old will need another two weeks to make a recovery.

“I don't think there is enough healing to allow him to play international cricket at this stage for the fear of further damaging the joint,” said Saleem.

“I will wait for another two weeks for another review.

“So, unfortunately his prospects of representing Pakistan in T20Is against England are non-existent.

“Meanwhile, he has been advised to stay in NCA to work on his fitness.” 

In place of the injured Wasim, the Pakistan selectors have called up all-rounder Bilal Asif to the T20I squad to face England.

After the completion of the Test and the One-Day International series, Pakistan and England will now play a three-match T20I series starting on 26th November.  

© Cricket World 2015