< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Uncapped Mills, Malan, and Dawson called up to T20I squad

Tymal Mills (right) has 32 wickets from 26 T20 matches at an economy of 8.08.
Tymal Mills (right) has 32 wickets from 26 T20 matches at an economy of 8.08.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The uncapped England trio of Tymal Mills, Dawid Malan, and Liam Dawson have been called up to the 13-man Twenty20 International squad to face Sri Lanka in the upcoming limited-overs leg of the campaign.

The England selectors have also named a 14-man One-Day International squad with batsman James Vince earning a recall.

The rest of the ODI squad retains the same core from the set of playersthat toured South Africa while all-rounder Ben Stokes misses out due to his knee injury.

A total of seven players have been retained from England’s 2016 World T20 squad while the likes of Moeen Ali, Alex Hales, and Joe Root have been rested.

Pace bowler Mills caught the eye of the selectors with impressive domestic performances as did Malan, who shone during the England Lions tour of the United Arab Emirates against Pakistan A in the winter.

Spin bowler Dawson, who was named in the World T20 squad, also retains his place.

National selector James Whitaker feels that the upcoming limited overs series against Sri Lanka will be a really good challenge for the members of the England squad.

Speaking about the T20I squad, Whitaker said that there is a good balance of young and experienced players in the side and is hoping for a competitive series.

"We have made good progress over the past 12 months in all white ball cricket, which has been very encouraging.

"The six matches coming up against Sri Lanka will give the players a good test of their credentials.

"It is important for this group of players to make a mark this summer as we continue to improve ahead of hosting the ICC Champions Trophy tournament this time next year.

"The IT20 squad has a balanced feel to it with an exciting blend of youth and experience.

"This is our first test since reaching the final of the ICC World T20 and we know the players will want to ensure that they play well and win the match."

Whitaker is also confident that Mills and Malan will succeed in the limited overs formats for England and praised their impressive form in the recent past.

"This is also an opportunity, if selected, for two new players to showcase their skills at this level.

"Tymal Mills has been one of the standout performers with the ball in the NatWest T20 Blast competition this season and deserves his chance.

"Dawid Malan has made great strides as an attacking batsman, both with Middlesex and the England Lions.

"We were particularly impressed with his three fifties during the winter tour of the UAE against Pakistan A.

"On behalf of the selectors, I would like to wish Eoin Morgan and Trevor Bayliss all the very best for what I’m sure will be a very competitive and entertaining series."

The limited-overs leg of Sri Lanka’s tour of England begins on 21st June with the five-match ODI series, followed by the lone T20I on 5th July.

England ODI Squad

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Chris Jordan, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes

England T20I squad

Eoin Morgan (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Liam Dawson, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, James Vince, David Willey

© Cricket World 2016