< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Vaas, Jayasuriya Miss Out As Sri Lanka Name Squad

Vaas, Jayasuriya Miss Out As Sri Lanka Name Squad
Vaas, Jayasuriya Miss Out As Sri Lanka Name Squad
©REUTERS/Simon Baker (BARBADOS) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Veterans of Sri Lanka's victorious 1996 World Cup campaign Sanath Jayasuriya and Chaminda Vaas have both been left out of their country's final 15-man squad for the 2011 tournament, which they will co-host.

They had been called up to the provisional squad of 30 names which contained just one uncapped player - Nuwan Pradeep - while also missing out on final selection is off-spinner Suraj Randiv.

Left-arm spinner Rangana Herath joins Muttiah Muralitharan and Ajantha Mendis in a formidable line-up of spinners.

Kumar Sangakkara will continue to lead the side with Mahela Jayawardene as his deputy as Sri Lanka aim to go one better than they did in 2007, when they finished the tournament as runners-up to Australia in the Caribbean.

They begin their campaign on 20th February against Canada in Hambantota while they also play Pakistan, Kenya, Australia, Zimbabwe and New Zealand.

Sri Lanka World Cup squad: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Mahela Jayawardene (vice-captain), Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedara, Angelo Mathews, Tissara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath

© Cricket World 2011