< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Van Wyk Ton Inspires South Africa

Morne van Wyk
Morne van Wyk struck 114 not out as South Africa won the third and final T20I against the West Indies
©REUTERS / Action Images

South Africa 195-3 (van Wyk 114no) beat
West Indies 126 (Wiese 5-23) by 69 runs
Third Twenty20 International, Durban

Despite being without a number of their first choice players, South Africa won the third and final Twenty20 International against the West Indies in Durban by 69 runs after Morne van Wyk scored a century.

As fans held up banners asking questions such as "Where is AB" and Faf du Plessis was rested, van Wyk hammered 114 not out in 70 balls.

Reeza Hendricks made 42 and JP Duminy marked his return from a long injury absence by hitting his first ball for six as South Africa scored 195 for three.

Without Chris Gayle in their side, the West Indies would aways have been expected to struggle chasing almost 200 but they collapsed to be all out for 126.

Lendl Simmons top scored with 49 in 31 balls before David Wiese returned five for 23 as the tourists were dismissed in 19 overs.

The West Indies won the series 2-1.

Van Wyk hit nine fours and seven sixes during his innings as he and Hendricks put on 111 for the first wicket.

Wiese, promoted to bat at three then made 21 in 16 balls and Rilee Rossouw fell for a golden duck, coming in in the penultimate over.

Duminy added a final flourish with seven not out in two balls as van Wyk became the third South African after Richard Levi and du Plessis.

Shedon Cottrell (1-33), Dwayne Bravo (1-38) and Kieron Pollard (1-13) took the wickets for the West Indies.

Simmons then came out swinging and struck six fours and two sixes but he quickly lost partners Dwayne Smith (5) and Marlon Samuels (6).

He fell in the ninth over to Wiese and from 68 for three, the West Indies then rapidy fell out of contention.

Wiese added the wickets of Bravo (12), Darren Sammy (8) and Carlos Brathwaite (1) to those of Simmons and Samuels to return his five-wicket haul.

Kieron Pollard was left unbeaten on 20 in 23 balls as Marchant de Lange (2-26), Wayne Parnell (2-33) and Aaron Phangiso (1-23) also took wickets.

© Cricket World 2015