Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Venue Switch For Opening Tests

Pakistan Test cricket
Abu Dhabi will now host the opening Tests
©REUTERS / Action Images

The venues for the first two Tests between Pakistan and Sri Lanka in Abu Dhabi and Dubai have been switched with each other.

The opening Test, which begins on 31st December, will now be held in Abu Dhabi with Dubai hosting the second Test from 8th January.

Sharjah will host the third and final Test from 16th January.

Before that, the two sides play five One-Day Internationals at the same three venues, beginning with today's opener in Sharjah (18th December).

The two-match Twenty20 International series was drawn 1-1.

Pakistan and Sri Lanka have played each other in 43 Test matches since their first game in Karachi in 1982.

Pakistan have the edge with 16 wins to Sri Lanka's 10 while the sides have also contested 17 draws.

Both previous Tests at neutral venues have been drawn and the last match in Pallekele in 2012 was also drawn.

© Cricket World 2013