Video - ICC World Twenty20 2014 Launch

Watch as details of the ICC World Twenty20 2014, to be held in Bangladesh in March and April, are unveiled at the event's launch in Dhaka.

Bangladesh will host an expanded 16-team tournament from 16th March to 6th April with India taking on Pakistan in the event's first match following an eight-team qualifying tournament.

Two teams will progress from the qualifying tournament, in which the hosts themselves must play, to join the eight highest ranked Twenty20 teams in two groups of 10 teams.

Reigning champions the West Indies will open their defence against India and in line with previous tournaments, the women's competition will run alongside the men's event.

Similarly, it features more teams than before with Bangladesh and Ireland making their debuts in a 10-team contest.

35 matches in the men's competition and 25 in the women's event will be played in Chittagong, Dhaka and Sylhet.

"It is pertinent to thank the ICC for the wonderful support it has always provided to Bangladesh to hosting rights for major events," Bangladesh Cricket Board chairman Nazmul Hossain said.

"Next year we join an elite group of nations who have hosted the four main ICC tournaments - the Champions Trophy which was previously the mini-World Cup, the under 19 World Cup, the World Cup and the World Twenty20."

Video courtesy of SNTV and will be available until 10th November, after which the player at the top of this page will display the latest live video content.

© Cricket World 2013

YouTube Button