Video - India, Sri Lanka Set For Semi-Final Clash

India take on Sri Lanka in Cardiff with England awaiting the winners in Sunday's ICC Champions Trophy 2013 semi-final at Edgbaston.

The two sides are no strangers to each other, having contested the 2011 World Cup final, which India won on home soil, while India hold the upper hand having won their previous four meetings in England and Wales.

Sri Lanka, however, reached the final of the last global tournament to be held in England back in 2009 when they were runners-up in the ICC World Twenty20.

And Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, seen in the video below on the left,  has praised Sri Lanka, calling them 'a very good team' who like India, are going through a number of changes with some senior players no longer in the frame and in Angelo Mathews, an inexperienced captain.

Mathews, meanwhile, is hopeful that his 'confident' team can overturn the poor recent record against Sri Lanka and build on an excellent finish to the group stage which included wins over England and Australia. Hear him speak at his press conference below on the right.

Videos courtesy of SNTV

© Cricket World 2013


CT 2013 Fixtures

Fixtures & Results

6th June: India v South Africa, Cardiff
IND 331-7 beat RSA 305 by 26 runs: Report
7th June: Pakistan v West Indies, London
WIN 172-8 beat PAK 170 by 2 wickets: Report
8th June: England v Australia, Birmingham
ENG 269-6 beat AUS 221-9 by 48 runs: Report
9th June: New Zealand v Sri Lanka, Cardiff
NZL 139-9 beat SRI 138 by 1 wicket: Report
10th June: Pakistan v South Africa, Birmingham
RSA 234-9 beat PAK 167 by 67 runs: Report
11th June: India v West Indies, London
IND 236-2 beat WIN 233-9 by 8 wickets: Report
12th June: Australia v New Zealand, Birmingham
AUS 243-8 v NZL 51-2 - match abandoned: Report
13th June: England v Sri Lanka, The Oval
SRI 297-3 beat ENG 293-7 by 7 wickets: Report
15th June: India v Pakistan, Birmingham
IND 102-2 beat PAK 165 by 8 wickets: Report
16th June: England v New Zealand, Cardiff
ENG 169 beat NZL 159-8 by 10 runs: Report
17th June: Australia v Sri Lanka, London
SRI 253-8 beat AUS 233 by 20 runs: Report
19th June: Semi-Final, London
ENG 179-3 beat RSA 175 by 7 wickets: Report
20th June: Semi-Final, Cardiff
IND 182-2 beat SRI 181-8 by 8 wickets: Report
23rd June: Final, Birmingham
IND 129-7 beat ENG 124-8 by 5 runs: Report

Champions Trophy History

Previous Winners

1998: South Africa
2000: New Zealand
2002: India/Sri Lanka
2004: West Indies
2006: Australia
2009: Australia