< >
Cricket Betting us

Virat Kohli named captain of the team of the ICC World T20

Virat Kohli named captain of the team of the ICC World T20
Virat Kohli has 273 runs from five matches at an average of 136.50 in the World T20 tournament.
©REUTERS / Action Images

Indian batsman Virat Kohli has been selected to lead the team of the ICC World Twenty20 tournament which consists of as many as four England players.

Since the Super 10 stage of the tournament, Kohli has been the highest run-scorer while England’s Joe Root has been the second highest run-getter in the same period.

From five matches Kohli amassed 273 runs at an average of 136.50 and picked up the man of the tournament award while Root has 249 runs from six games including two fifties.

Jos Buttler and Jason Roy, both of whom feature among the top-10 run getters in the tournament have also been named in the side while David Willey is the fourth England player in the mix.

Quinton de Kock was selected as the wicket-keeper in the side, whereas Shane Watson and Andre Russell make up the all-rounders in the side.

Ashish Nehra and Willey are the two fast bowlers in the side while Samuel Badree and Mitchell Santner are the spin bowlers picked for the team of the tournament.

Bangladesh’s Mustafizur Rahman, who took nine wickets from the three games he participated in, was the 12th man of the side.

The General Manager - Cricket of the ICC, Geoff Allardice announced the teams in a media release and said that the panel has picked a very balanced squad which is capable of succeeding in any conditions.

“The experts had an extremely difficult task to select the men’s and women’s squads from around 400 cricketers who represented the 26 teams, thanks to outstanding performances by all the players at this hugely successful event.

“In the end, I believe the selectors have chosen two very well balanced sides which are capable of beating any opposition under any conditions.”

The panel which selected the team of the tournament consisted of Allardice, Ian Bishop, Nasser Hussain, Mel Jones, Sanjay Manjrekar and Lisa Sthalekar.

© Cricket World 2016