< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Virat Kohli named ICC's Cricketer of the Year

Virat Kohli scored five double centuries in the qualification period
Virat Kohli scored five double centuries in the qualification period

India skipper Virat Kohli made it big at the International Cricket Council Awards after he was named the Cricketer of the Year and also the One-Day International Player of the Year.

During the phase between 21st September 2016 to September 2017, Kohli amassed 2203, 1818 and 229 runs in Tests, ODIs and T20Is respectively. He also smashed five double tons, 12 centuries and 14 fifties in the process.

"It means a lot to win to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017 and also the ICC ODI Player of the Year," Kohli said.

"I won that back in 2012 also but it's the first time winning the Garfield Sobers Trophy, and it's a huge honour for me. It's probably the biggest of all in world cricket and two Indians getting it back-to-back makes it more special.

"Last time it was Ash [Ravichandran Ashwin] and this time I'm getting it, so I'm really really honoured and I'd like to thank the ICC for recognising all the hard work that we all put in for our respective sides and I want to congratulate all the other winners also."

Meanwhile, Australia skipper Steven Smith, who himself plundered 1875 runs at an average of 78 from 16 Tests was named the Test Cricketer of the Year.

"It's a great honour to win the Test Player of the Year award," he said.

"It's called Test cricket for a reason and I'm very humbled to win that award. I've had a really good year - I think I've scored six hundreds in the year and more importantly led the team to an Ashes victory, which is something that is really important to me.

"I am incredibly humbled and I love playing Test cricket - it's the game that challenges your skills and your mind the most."

Pakistan's Hasan Ali won the Emerging Player of the Year while Afghanistan's Rashid Khan was voted the ICC Associate Player of the Year. Marais Erasmus was named the ICC Umpire of the Year for the second time in succession.

The ICC also announced the ODI and Test teams of the Year with both being captained by Kohli.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2017: Dean Elgar, David Warner, Virat Kohli (captain), Steve Smith, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ben Stokes, Quinton de Kock (wk), R Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, James Anderson.

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2017: David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (captain), Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah.

© Cricket World 2018