< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Vitality Blast 2021: Match Preview: Somerset v Essex Eagles

Match Preview: Somerset v Essex Eagles
Match Preview: Somerset v Essex Eagles

Essex Eagles will kick off their Vitality Blast campaign on Wednesday evening when they face Somerset at Taunton, with play commencing at 6:30pm.

Live Scores and Stats – Somerset v Essex Eagles

The Eagles won the competition for the first time in 2019 but have since made several changes to their line-up with Cameron Delport and Adam Zampa not returning following last season's campaign.

New Zealand international, Jimmy Neesham has linked up with the Eagles filling one of the two Overseas slots, and featured in Tuesday's Second XI double-header against Hampshire, hitting a half-century.

The Eagles once again will be skippered by Simon Harmer, who occupies the second Overseas position after previously being registered as a Kolpak player.

Head Coach Anthony McGrath is looking for improvements in the T20 game after a below-par performance last season.

“Although we won the T20 in 2019, the 20-over game remains a challenge for us,” Eagles Head Coach Anthony McGrath admitted.

“There’s no doubt that we can be successful as we showed two years ago but we need to show consistency in our performances. We haven’t hit those heights consistently.

“We want to solve that and want to get better, obviously. I think our home record has been poor in T20 and we want to address that too, so that is something that we need to target.”

Essex Eagles have named a 14-man squad for the fixture.

ESSEX SQUAD: 11 Simon Harmer (C), 14 Aaron Beard, 6 Varun Chopra, 16 Sam Cook, 50 Jimmy Neesham, 24 Aron Nijjar, 19 Michael Pepper, 77 Jack Plom, 44 Jamie Porter, 29 Shane Snater, 27 Ryan ten Doeschate, 22 Paul Walter, 21 Tom Westley, 31 Adam Wheater (WK)

SOMERSET SQUAD:  Steven Davies (wk), Devon Conway, Will Smeed, Tom Abell, Lewis Goldsworthy, Lewis Gregory (C), Tom Lammonby, Craig Overton, Roelof van der Merwe, Ollie Sale, Max Waller, Merchant de Lange, Josh Davey, Jack Leach, Jack Brooks, Ned Leonard, Kasey Aldridge, Ben Green, Eddie Byrom, James Hildreth, Sam Young, Tom Banton

©Cricket World 2021