< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WACA announces Men and Women's squads ahead of 2020-21 domestic season

WACA announces Men and Women's squads ahead of 2020-21 domestic season
WACA announces Men and Women's squads ahead of 2020-21 domestic season

The most prolific Sheffield Shield wicket-taker of last season, Cameron Gannon, joins the 2020-21 WA Men’s squad on a multi-year deal.

The 31-year-old fast bowler finished his Shield season with the Queensland Bulls with 38 wickets at 20.92, five more scalps than the competition’s next best.

The side’s bowling attack will be further bolstered with leg-spinner Liam O’Connor who has earned a senior contract following his impressive five-wicket haul in his Sheffield Shield debut last year and strong performance in the 2019-20 Alcohol. Think Again Premier Cricket season.

Exciting local spinner Corey Rocchiccioli has been awarded a rookie contract and joins allrounder Bradley Hope and left-handed batsman Sam Fanning who have both retained their rookie contracts.

Joining the unit is fast bowler Lance Morris who has been elevated to a senior contract.

Ashton Agar, Mitch Marsh and Jhye Richardson have all received national contracts for the season ahead.

Head Coach Adam Voges said the squad boasts exciting talent, which will add strength and depth to the bowling department.

“We identified at the end of last season that our bowling depth in Shield cricket and our spin stocks needed a boost and we’re really pleased with our new additions to the squad,” he said.

“It’s exciting to have Cam (Gannon) come across to the West. He had a terrific season in red ball cricket being the leading wicket taker in Sheffield Shield cricket and will bring experience and leadership to our young bowling group.

“A number of our young players gained playing experience last season and this will build our depth, which means competition for spots will be strong, particularly when we are at full strength.

“We were strong in the Marsh Cup last year and will be looking to start the season well in 50-over cricket.

“Our focus, no doubt, will be to improve our Sheffield Shield results, we were disappointing at the back end of last season and will be looking to rectify that this year.”

Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Simon Mackin and Matthew Spoors were not offered contracts. Jayden Goodwin’s rookie contract has been deferred as he undergoes missionary service.

2020-21 WA Women’s Squad

The WA Women’s squad welcomes three exciting new faces to its side as it looks to defend the Women’s National Cricket League title this summer.

Experienced Victorian right-arm leg-spinner Alana King joins the side bolstering an already formidable bowling attack made up of last season’s WNCL Player of the Year Nicole Bolton and the State’s leading wicket taker Emma King.

Port Hedland fast bowler Zoe Britcliffe has been upgraded to a senior contract as well as Mandurah’s Georgia Wyllie, following strong performances in the WACA Female High-Performance program.

Head Coach Becky Grundy said the calibre and depth of talent in the squad will strengthen their ability to defend the title.

“The success from last season provides the group with a great foundation to build on, with our main two focuses for this season being a continual drive to deliver a strong high performance program and players to continue to maximise their potential,” she said.

“This gives us the platform to peak at the right times in the season, and provide a real chance to be in a position to defend the title.

“Georgia and Zoe have both transitioned from our rookie program, which is testament to our strong talent pathway and the development of female cricket in WA.

“We are thrilled to have Alana join us from Victoria, she’ll bring a wealth of experience to the group having played state cricket for a number of seasons now and provides us with another attacking option with both the bat and ball.”

Heather Graham has made the move to Tasmania, while Sophie Devine (International duties), Kath Hempenstall and Ashlee King have dropped off the contracted list for the upcoming season.

WA Men’s Squad:

1. Ashton AGAR (CA)

2. Cameron BANCROFT


4. Jake CARDER


6. Sam FANNING (Rookie)

7. Cameron GANNON

8. Cameron GREEN


10. Aaron HARDIE

11. Bradley HOPE (Rookie)

12. Josh INGLIS

13. Matthew KELLY

14. Mitch MARSH (CA)

15. Shaun MARSH

16. David MOODY

17. Lance MORRIS

18. Liam O’CONNOR

19. Joel PARIS



22. Corey ROCCHICCIOLI (Rookie)

23. D’Arcy SHORT

24. Marcus STOINIS

25. Ashton TURNER


WA Women’s Squad:

1. Megan BANTING

2. Nicole BOLTON

3. Zoe Britcliffe (new)

4. Mathilda CARMICHAEL

5. Piepa CLEARY

6. Sheldyn COOPER

7. Ashley DAY

8. Amy EDGAR

9. Molly HEALY

10. Alana KING (new)

11. Emma KING

12. Taneale PESCHEL

13. Chloe PIPARO

14. Georgia WYLLIE (new)

Official Cricket Australia Website