< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Warner masterclass propels Sunrisers Hyderabad into finals

David Warner led from the front with unbeaten 93.
David Warner led from the front with unbeaten 93.

Sunrisers Hyderabad 163-6 (Warner 93no) beat
Gujarat Lions 162-7 (Finch 50) by four wickets
Second Qualifying Final, Indian Premier League, Delhi

David Warner slammed an unbeaten 58-ball 93 and along with a late cameo from Bipul Sharma, Sunrisers Hyderabad raced into the finals of the Indian Premier League by defeating Gujarat Lions by four wickets in a chase of 163 runs in the second qualifying final in Delhi.

Earlier in the day, a 32-ball 50 from Aaron Finch rescued Gujarat Lions and cameos from Ravindra Jadeja and Dwayne Bravo helped the team post 162 for seven in 20 overs.

Sunrisers Hyderabad opted to field first after winning the toss. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2-27) struck in the last ball of the first over, having Eklavya Dwivedi (5) caught at third man.

In the fourth over, Trent Boult (1-39) trapped Suresh Raina (1) lbwbut Brendon McCullum (32) continued to deal in boundaries and took Gujarat Lions to 38 for two in the powerplay.

Dinesh Karthik (26) hit two fours and a six in the overs eight and nine but was run out after a mix up in the middle.

Tidy bowling from Sunrisers Hyderabad restricted Gujarat Lions to 67 for three at the halfway mark. Finch (50) began to up the ante in the 11th over with a four and a six.

The Australian swashbuckling batsman was dropped in the 12th over by Barinder Sran (0-28). Moments later, McCullum was caught in the covers while Dwayne Smith (1) fell in the 13th over.

Finch took Moises Henriques (0-27) apart for two fours and a six in the 14th over. With five overs left, Gujarat Lions reached 109 for five. Finch continued to hit the big shots and reached a fifty in the 18th over in just 31 balls.

However, Finch was castled by Ben Cutting (2-20) in the very next ball. Bravo (20) took over the mantle and smashed four boundaries in the next nine balls.

Kumar gave away just eight runs in the final over and castled Bravo. Gujarat Lions scored 162 for seven in 20 overs.

Warner (93 not out) began the innings with a boundary. However, Shikhar Dhawan (0) was run out in the second over.

Warner and Henriques (11) joined to score five more boundaries by the end of the fourth over.
Henriques was caught in the covers in the fifth over and Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 46 runs in the powerplay for the loss of two wickets.

After two tight overs, Warner hit a six and a four in the eighth over but Yuvraj Singh (8) holed out to long off in the ninth over at the other end adding more pressure on his captain.

With 10 overs left, Sunrisers Hyderabad needed 97 more runs for a win. Things took a downturn as Sunrisers Hyderabad lost Deepak Hooda (4) and Cutting (8) in consecutive overs.

Despite losing wickets at the other end, Warner went past a 35-ball fifty. The 15th over eased the pressure as Naman Ojha (10) and Warner scored 19 runs off it.

After Ojha was dismissed in the 16th over, Sunrisers Hyderabad needed 45 runs from 24 balls. Sharma (27 not out) struck a six in each of the next two overs.

The 19th over saw 19 runs being scored with Warner hitting two fours and Sharma smashing another six.

It took Sunrisers Hyderabad 19.2 overs to chase down the target and secure a berth in the final with the four-wicket win.

For leading his team from the front, Warner was given the man of the match award. The final will be played on 29th May between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

© Cricket World 2016