< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WBBL|05 – Round Up Oct 20th – Wins for Melbourne Renegades, Hobart Hurricanes & Sydney Thunder

WBBL|05 – Round Up Oct 20th – Wins for Melbourne Renegades, Hobart Hurricanes & Sydney Thunder
©Adelaide Strikers

There were wins for Melbourne Renegades, Hobart Hurricanes & Sydney Thunder in the WBBL|05 today, in Australia.

Adelaide Strikers v Melbourne Renegades at the Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide

The Melbourne Renegades have defeated the Adelaide Strikers by five wickets, thanks to a match-winning knock by England import Danni Wyatt.

Match Summary

Adelaide Strikers 152 – 5 (Sophie Devine 48)

Melbourne Renegades 154 – 5 (Danni Wyatt 61, Tammy Beaumont 41)

Result - Melbourne Renegades won by 5 wickets

Strikers captain Suzie Bates won the bat flip for the second day in a row and chose to bat first at Karen Rolton Oval.

Sophie Devine led the way with the bat again making 48, supported by Bridget Patterson (38), Tahlia McGrath (24) and fellow Smash Sister Bates (24).

A total of 5/152 was tough to defend on the Karen Rolton wicket, with Wyatt's boundary-riddled 61 and Tammy Beaumont's 41 propelling the Renegades.

Devine (2/32) was best with the ball, but it was an lbw from Bates to remove Beaumont and then an Alex Price run-out that suddenly turned the game on its head.

But a couple of expensive overs followed and the Strikers were unable to capitalise on the momentum.

Josie Dooley hit a boundary to bring up the winning runs on the final ball of the 19th over.

The Strikers next take on the Hobart Hurricanes and the Perth Scorchers at Brisbane's festival weekend on 26 and 27 October.

Match Details

Adelaide Strikers - Suzie Bates(c), Sophie Devine, Tahlia McGrath, Stafanie Taylor, Bridget Patterson, Katie Mack, Tegan McPharlin(wk), Amanda Wellington, Sarah Coyte, Alex Price, Megan Schutt

Melbourne Renegades - Danni Wyatt, Sophie Molineux, Tammy Beaumont, Claire Koski, Josie Dooley(wk), Jess Duffin(c), Courtney Webb, Maitlan Brown, Georgia Wareham, Molly Strano, Lea Tahuhu

Start Time: 04:30 GMT

Toss: Adelaide Strikers won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide

Officials: Eloise Sheridan, Mary Waldron, Ian Thomas

Sydney Thunder  v Brisbane Heat  at the North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Top batting from Alex Blackwell 42*and Phoebe Litchfield 52* saw Sydney Thunder  chase down their required runs, with more than an over to spare, in their 7 wicket win over Brisbane Heat.

Match Summary

Sydney Thunder 153 – 3 (Alex Blackwell 42*, Phoebe Litchfield 52*)

Brisbane Heat 150 – 9 (Jess Jonassen 42; Samantha Bates 3-33)

Result - Sydney Thunder Women won by 7 wickets

Squads -

Sydney Thunder - Rachel Priest(wk), Naomi Stalenberg, Rachael Haynes(c), Alex Blackwell, Phoebe Litchfield, Nida Dar, Hannah Darlington, Rene Farrell, Lisa Griffith, Shabnim Ismail, Samantha Bates

Brisbane Heat - Kirby Short(c), Beth Mooney(wk), Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Maddy Green, Mikayla Hinkley, Laura Harris, Amelia Kerr, Delissa Kimmince, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Georgie Prestwidge

Start Time: 04:00 GMT

Toss: Brisbane Heat won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Officials: Troy Penman, Andrew Hamilton, Simon Lightbody, Neil Findlay


Melbourne Stars v Hobart Hurricanes at the CitiPower Centre, Melbourne

A top batting performance from Nicola Carey 60* and Chloe Tryon 29* saw the Hobart Hurricanes to their second successive win over Melbourne Stars at the CitiPower Centre, Melbourne today.

Match Summary

Melbourne Stars 136 - 7

Hobart Hurricanes 137 – 5 (Nicola Carey 60*, Chloe Tryon 29*)

Result - Hobart Hurricanes won by 5 wickets

Squads -

Melbourne Stars -  Elyse Villani(c), Lizelle Lee, Emma Inglis, Mignon du Preez, Katey Martin(wk), Erin Osborne, Annabel Sutherland, Tess Flintoff, Nicola Hancock, Chloe Rafferty, Kristen Beams

Hobart Hurricanes - Stefanie Daffara, Erin Fazackerley, Heather Knight, Nicola Carey, Fran Wilson, Corinne Hall(c), Chloe Tryon, Maisy Gibson, Emily Smith(wk), Tayla Vlaeminck, Belinda Vakarewa

Start Time: 04:00 GMT

Toss: Hobart Hurricanes won the toss and decided to field

Venue: CitiPower Centre, Melbourne

Officials: Dale Ireland, Mattis van Eck, Kent Hannam



©Cricket World 2019