< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West End Redbacks squad named for Shield opener

West End Redbacks squad named for Shield opener
West End Redbacks squad named for Shield opener

South Australia has named a 15-player squad for Saturday’s Marsh Sheffield Shield opener against Western Australia at Karen Rolton Oval.

Brad Davis and Conor McInerney have both been selected in their first squad since the end of the 2018-19 season.

Davis earned his first State contract this year after a strong West End First Grade season which featured 738 runs at 73.80 for Sturt.

McInerney has made his way back into the side after suffering two broken bones in the arm at the beginning of last season.

The left-hand batsman made a comeback with twin tons (108 and 142 not out) in the final Toyota Second XI match against ACT/NSW Country.

Under-19 World Cup representative Liam Scott, reigning Bradman Medallist Cameron Valente, and right-arm quick Luke Robins have also been selected.

Paceman Joe Mennie has been in England for the pre-season due to personal reasons with his family.

SACA has worked in conjunction with the ACA and Cricket Australia to support Joe through this period, and he will not be available for the first four Shield rounds at a minimum.

Interim Head Coach Luke Butterworth said there was a fresh feel to the group.

“There are a few changes to our squad with some younger guys named and it’s really exciting for them to get a chance and show what they’ve got,” he said.

“We’ve had a good full pre-season with plenty of sessions outdoors which is a credit to the ground staff, and it’s been unique and valuable to have our experienced players train for a longer period with the younger group.

“Daniel (Worrall) is on the way back from a calf strain, and we’re hoping he won’t be too far away after having a bowl in the nets on Tuesday.

“We also respect Joe’s decision and wish him well in the coming months.”

Play begins at 11am on Saturday at Karen Rolton Oval. Entry is free.

West End Redbacks’ 15-player squad:

Travis Head (c)
Wes Agar
Tom Cooper
Brad Davis
Callum Ferguson
Henry Hunt
Conor McInerney
Harry Nielsen
Lloyd Pope
Luke Robins
Chadd Sayers
Liam Scott
Cameron Valente
Jake Weatherald
Nick Winter

Official Cricket Australia Website