< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West Indies Announce Squad For First Test Against England

West Indies Announce Squad For First Test Against England
Devendra Bishoo is making a comeback to the West Indies team after a break of three years.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The West Indies Cricket Board announced a 14-member squad for the first Test against England which begins on Monday in Antigua.

While announcing the West Indies squad, Convenor of Selectors Clive Lloyd expressed happiness at the healthy competition among players for a slot in the squad.

“It is always good when there is strong competition for places,” said Lloyd.

“A few players have been rewarded for the work which they have done, like Shai Hope, Carlos Brathwaite and Devendra Bishoo, but it will take some time to reach the standard of consistency that we all desire to see from our side.”

While wicket-keeper batsman Hope and pacer Brathwaite are both yet to be capped, leg-spinner Bishoo is making a comeback to the team after a hiatus of three years.

Bishoo who was voted the ICC Emerging Player of the Year in 2011 has accounted for 40 Test wickets from 11 matches at an average of 39.55.

New coach Phil Simmons also came in for praise from Lloyd who termed the former as a positive influence on the West Indies team.

Simmons had a highly successful term as Ireland coach helping them to put up impressive performances especially in the last two World Cups.

However, Lloyd opined that Simmons should not be judged on the basis of the immediate results produced by the team.

“We have a new coach and we have to give him as much help as possible.

“He is a very positive guy, he has been successful and he is one of us.

“We had a good chat after he was appointed and we have spent the last few days in further discussions about a number of things, so we are looking forward to see how it all works out.”

The series featuring three Tests against England will be followed by a two-match Test series against Australia in June.

West Indies squad for first Test against England: Denesh Ramdin (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite (vc), Sulieman Benn, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Devon Smith, Jerome Taylor

© Cricket World 2015