< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West Indies announce World Twenty20 squad

West Indies announce World Twenty20 squad
Sunil Narine finds a place in the 15-man squad that will travel to India for World T20.
©REUTERS / Action Images

West Indies on Friday have announced a 15-man squad that will take part in the World Twenty20 tournament which is scheduled to be played in India in March.

The squad features 11 members from the 2012 World Cup winning West Indies team that defeated Sri Lanka in the finals. 

Darren Sammy will lead the squad which also features off-spinner Sunil Narine who was suspended from bowling in international cricket due to an illegal action.

Apart from Narine, the spin attack consists of leg-spinner Samuel Badree and the tall left-arm-spinner Sulieman Benn while Jerome Taylor will lead the pace attack.

The squad consists of as many as five all-rounders in Jason Holder, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard along with the skipper Sammy.

The swashbuckling opening batsman Chris Gayle will open the batting alongside Andre Fletcher while Darren Bravo and Marlon Samuels will form the fulcrum of the middle order.

Denesh Ramdin will don the wicket-keeping role with Fletcher as the backup. 

The squad members will attend a training camp in the United Arab Emirates between 22nd February and 6th March prior to the World Cup after which they head to India.

West Indies squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor

© Cricket World 2016