< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West Indies drop Kyle Hope for New Zealand Test series

Kyle Hope has played five Tests for West Indies
Kyle Hope has played five Tests for West Indies

West Indies selectors have dropped top order batsman Kyle Hope for the upcoming two match Test series in New Zealand.

Hope, who made his Test debut against England in Birmingham has played five games until now but has managed only 101 runs at an average of 11.22.

Even in the recently concluded series against Zimbabwe, the 28-year-old managed 60 runs from two Tests and has been replaced by uncapped Sunil Ambris in the 15-man squad that will take on the Black Caps.

Ambris made his international debut in September during the One-Day International series in England and has 1900 first-class runs at an average of 31.14, scoring five centuries and eight fifties in it.

"The panel congratulates the players and the entire team management unit on the series victory in Zimbabwe," said the chairman of selection panel Courtney Browne.

"It was a strong team effort and highlighted by those players that did not do as well as expected on the recent Tour of England, playing critical roles in the team’s success.

"Their success augurs well for the selection process and the philosophy of continuity which has underpinned our selection for the Tour of New Zealand, and not the chopping and changing mentality"

Browne also welcomed Ambris inclusion in the squad and is hoping for him to replicate the success he had with West Indies A at the international level.

"Sunil has replaced Kyle Hope in the squad, and this is on the basis of his consistent performances across formats and his outstanding returns for the Windies ‘A’ Team in the ‘Test’ series against Sri Lanka ‘A’. This type of consistency is very welcomed by the panel.

"Kyle is encouraged to return to the first-class championship and turn in the strong performances his talent suggests he can deliver."

The two match Test series will be played in Wellington and Hamilton between 1st and 16th December.

West Indies squad: Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite (vice-capt), Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kieran Powell, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach

© Cricket World 2017