Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

West Indies fall just short of a dramatic win against New Zealand at Old Trafford

ICC Cricket World Cup - West Indies v New Zealand - Old Trafford, Manchester, Britain - June 22, 2019 West Indies' Carlos Brathwaite looks dejected after losing his wicket and the match

West Indies won the toss and decided to bowl against New Zealand at Old Trafford, Manchester today in their Cricket World Cup clash.

Match Summary

West Indies 286 (Chris Gayle 87, Shimron Hetmyer 54 , Carlos Brathwaite 101; Trent Boult 4-30, Lockie Ferguson 3-59)

New Zealand 291 - 8 (Kane Williamson 148, Ross Taylor 69; Sheldon Cottrell 4-56)

Result - New Zealand won by 5 runs 


Complete Match Highlights

Asked to bat first, the Kiwis were soon in trouble at 7-2, with both openers, Martin Guptill and Colin Munro, back in the pavilion without scoring - Sheldon Cottrell doing the damage. Then the New Zealand skipper, Kane Williamson 148 and Ross Taylor 66, put on 160 for the 3rd wicket and gave them a platform to push on and score 291-8 in their 50 overs. Sheldon Cottrell 4-56 was the top wicket taker for the Windies, however, Kemar Roach bowled exceptionally (0-38) off his 10 overs.

In reply, the West Indies had a similar start, losing 2 wickets early on, however, Chris Gayle 87 – the self-styled #Universe Boss – and Shimron Hetmyer 54 steadied the innings putting on 122 for the 3rd wicket. The Windies then slipped to 164-7 and were seemingly out of the run chase, however, Carlos Brathwaite then played one of those magical innings, hitting 101 off 80 balls to get them 5 runs from victory – he was then caught on the boundary and the Windies fell agonizingly short of a famous victory. Trent Boult 4-30 and Lockie Ferguson 3-59 were the pick of the bowlers for New Zealand.

West Indies - Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope(wk), Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder(c), Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Kemar Roach, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas

New Zealand - Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(wk), Jimmy Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

©Cricket World 2019


Funny Cricket Fielding Moments - Try not to Laugh Challenge!