West Indies level series with three-wicket win

Stafanie Taylor
Stafanie Taylor played a vital innings of 49 to steer her side out of danger
©International Cricket Council

West Indies Women 150-7 (Taylor 49) beat
Pakistan Women 149 (Nain Abidi 48) by three wickets
Second One-Day International, Saint Lucia

West Indies Women beat Pakistan Women by three wickets to level their four-match One-Day International series 1-1 in Saint Lucia.

Nain Abidi top scored with 48 and Bismah Maroof made 28 as Pakistan were bowled out for 149 in 46.1 overs.

Stafanie Taylor then hit 49 and Kyshona Knight an unbeaten 28 to guide West Indies to victory in 46.5 overs.

The victory gives West Indies two ICC Women's Championship points, lifting them up to second place in the table with 12 points from 10 matches.

Pakistan struggled to build partnerships during their innings and saw Maroof have to retire hurt before Abidi's 48 in 82 balls helped them post a competitive total.

Anisa Mohammed and Hayley Matthews took a brace of wickets with captain Taylor taking one as well as running out Nida Dar for a golden duck.

Taylor then held West Indies' innings together after Asmavia Iqbal (2-17) and Anam Amin (4-27) tore into the top order.

Iqbal dismissed openers Kycia Knight for six and Matthews for nine, Deandra Dottin was run out for nine and Amin removed Merissa Aguilleira for five as West Indies slipped to 81 for four.

However, Taylor struck 49 in 89 balls and Kyshona Knight 28 not out in 65 balls to take them out of immediate danger only for Amin to strike again and have Taylor caught by Iqbal.

Amin struck again to dismiss Taylor as well as Britney Cooper (7) and Stacy-Ann King (0) and at 106 for seven, the game was in the balance, and Pakistan were arguably favourites to win.

But for Mohammed offering Knight excellent support with 19 not out in 42 balls, they would have moved into a 2-0 series lead but as it was, the home team held their nerve to level the series.

The third game - and second Women's Championship clash is on 21st October.

© Cricket World 2015