West Indies make further changes to T20I squad

Shimron Hetmyer gets a call-up to West Indies T20I squad
Shimron Hetmyer gets a call-up to West Indies T20I squad

West Indies have made two more changes to their Twenty20 International squad for the upcoming series against New Zealand.

All-rounder Kieron Pollard has withdrawn from the series due to personal reasons and has been replaced by Shimron Hetmyer.

Hetmyer has already played five Tests and two One-Day Internationals for the Caribbean team but is yet to make an appearance in the shorter format.

His only appearance in the Twenty20 format came during the 2016 edition of the Caribbean Premier League in which he failed to score any run.

Meanwhile, pace bowler Ronsford Beaton has been ruled out of the series due to a side strain and Sheldon Cottrell has taken his place in the squad after last featuring in the format in 2015.

The three-match T20I series will be played between 29th December and 3rd January with Saxton Oval and Bay Oval being the venues.

West Indies T20 squad: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Chris Gayle, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell, Andre Fletcher, Shai Hope, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams, Samuel Badree, Sheldon Cotterell, Rayad Emrit.

© Cricket World 2017