West Indies Name Provisional WT20 Squad

West Indies win the ICC WT20 2012
The West Indies won the ICC World Twenty20 in 2012 when they beat Sri Lanka in the final
©REUTERS / Action Images

Reigning ICC World Twenty20 champions the West Indies have named their 30-man provisional squad for this year's tournament, which gets underway in Bangladesh in March.

Their recent tour of New Zealand was hampered by injuries and withdrawals but Darren Bravo, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul and Kemar Roach, who all missed all or part of the tour, are named in the squad.

All-rounder Kevon Cooper and left-arm fast bowler Delorn Johnson are the only two players in the squad with no international experience.

Cooper joins fellow all-rounders Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Smith in a versatile squad.

The West Indies won the 2012 event when they beat Sri Lanka in the final, Samuels playing a starring role and this year, they take on Australia, India, Pakistan and a qualifier.

Their first match is against former champions India on 23rd March.

West Indies provisional ICC World Twenty20 squad: Samuel Badree, Christopher Barnwell, Sulieman Benn, Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Kevon Cooper, Sheldon Cottrell, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Delorn Johnson, Nikita Miller, Sunil Narine, Ashley Nurse, Veeresammy Permaul, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Chadwick Walton

© Cricket World 2014