West Indies Name Squad To Take On England

West Indies Name Squad To Take On England
West Indies Name Squad To Take On England
©REUTERS / Action Images

The West Indies have named their Twenty20 International squad to play England in two matches at The Oval on 23rd and 25th September.

There are call-ups for uncapped players Miles Bascombe, Johnson Charles, Nkrumah Bonner and Derwin Christian while all-rounder Dwayne Smith is recalled.

Players involved in the 2011 Champions League Twenty20 - including the likes of Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard and the Trinidad and Tobago squad, are unavailable for selection.

Darren Sammy has been reappointed as captain in all three formats and he will lead the 14-man squad, as well as taking charge for the tours to Bangladesh and India later this year.

25-year-old Bascombe is an aggresive opening batsman from Saint Vincent, Bonner 22, is a leg-spinner from Jamaica, Guyana's Chrstian is a 28-year-old wicket-keeper while Charles is a 22-year-old top-order batsman from Saint Lucia.

"Bascombe is a Twenty20 player who has shown signs that he can take apart bowling attacks at the top of the order while Charles has been consistent in the past two years and has shown that he is capable of understanding the requirements of batting in the opening position in the shortest format," West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Chair of Selectors Clyde Butts said.

"We have identified Bonner as someone who, because he is exciting with the bat, ball and in the field, is a developing player we are looking to give him some exposure at the highest level."

"Nkrumah has also had excellent reports from the Sagicor HPC Batting Coach Carl Hooper."

"Christian impressed the selectors during the last Caribbean Twenty20 when he batted with a cool head and won games for Guyana, he is a pugnacious batsman who we believe can be a match winner down the order."

Meanwhile, Barbadan Smith adds experience to the squad although he has not played for the West Indies since March 2010 against Zimbabwe.

West Indies T20I squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Christopher Barnwell, Miles Bascombe, Devendra Bishoo, Nkrumah Bonner, Johnson Charles, Derwin Christian, Fidel Edwards, Danza Hyatt, Ashley Nurse, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Dwayne Smith

© Cricket World 2011