< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West Indies name Test squad to tour Australia

Darren Bravo (left) and Shai Hope are both part of the touring party
Darren Bravo (left) and Shai Hope are both part of the touring party
©REUTERS / Action Images

West Indies have named an unchanged 15-man squad for the three-Test series in Australia that gets underway in December.

The same set of players that headed to Sri Lanka has been retained for the challenge of taking on an Australia side seeking to replace Pakistan at number two in the ICC rankings.

It will be Jason Holder's second series as Test captain after he led the side to defeats in Galle and Colombo in Sri Lanka.

Despite losses by an innings and six runs and 72 runs respectively, the selectors have retained their confidence in the set of players selected.

Left-arm spinner Jomel Warrican made his debut in the second Test and is one of four players - Rajindra Chandrika, Shane Dowrich and Shai Hope are the others - to have played less than 10 Tests while Carlos Brathwaite is yet to make his debut.

Denesh Ramdin (71 Tests), Marlon Samuels (66 Tests) and Darren Bravo (39 Tests) add vital experience to the touring party.

They will also be boosted by the news that Phil Simmons has been reinstated as head coach and will be taking his place on the tour.

West Indies begin the tour with a four-day game against a Cricket Australia XI in Brisbane from 2nd to 5th December before playing Tests in Hobart (10th-14th December), Melbourne (26th-30th December) and Sydney (3rd-7th December).

They will also play a two-day tour game in Geelong between the first and second Test, starting on 19th December.

West Indies Test squad: Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite (vice-captain), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajindra Chandrika, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Jomel Warrican

© Cricket World 2015