West Indies Name Twenty20 International Squad

Darren Sammy will resume the captaincy for the T20 matches against Pakistan.
©REUTERS/Dinuka Liyanawatte. Picture Supplied by Action Images.

Denesh Ramdin continues to be overlooked by the West Indies selectors and has been left out of their 13-man squad for this weekend’s brace of Twenty20 Internationals against Pakistan.

Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels return from the squad that beat Zimbabwe in a two-match series in March, with all-rounder Andre Russell, who is currently playing for Worcestershire in England’s Friends Life t20, omitted.

Players who have not featured in the ODI series between the two sides, but who make the cut for the T20 Internationals are all-rounder Christopher Barnwell, leg-spinner Samuel Badree and fast-bowler Shannon Gabriel. The injured Kemar Roach, Devon Smith and Jason Holder will not feature. Darren Sammy, meanwhile, resumes the captaincy from Dwayne Bravo.

The two matches will be played in St Vincent on 27th and 28th July, with the West Indies players then linking up with their respective sides ahead of the inaugural Caribbean Premier League (CPL), which begins on 30th July.

West Indies T20I squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Samuel Badree, Christopher Barnwell, Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons.

© Cricket World 2013

Fixtures & Results
14th July: 1st ODI, Providence
PAK 224-9 beat WIN 98 by 126 runs
16th July: 2nd ODI, Providence
WIN 232-8 beat PAK 195 by 37 runs
19th July: 3rd ODI, Saint Lucia
PAK 229-6 tied with WIN 229-9
21st July: 4th ODI, Saint Lucia
PAK 189-4 beat WIN 261-7 by 6 wickets (D/L)
24th July: 5th ODI, Saint Lucia
PAK 243-6 beat WIN 242-7 by 4 wickets
27th July: 1st T20I, Kingstown
PAK 158-8 beat WIN 152-7 by 2 wickets
28th July: 2nd T20I, Kingstown
PAK 135-7 beat WIN 124-9 by 11 runs