West Indies name unchanged squad for first two ODIs against India

Evin Lewis (right) will open the innings for West Indies
Evin Lewis (right) will open the innings for West Indies

West Indies have named an unchanged squad for the first two One-Day Internationals against India that begins on Friday at Queen's Park Oval.

The squad captained by Jason Holder will be without their premier fast bowler Shannon Gabriel, who is undergoing rehabilitation from the injury that he sustained against the recently concluded series against Afghanistan.

West Indies are currently positioned ninth in the ICC One-Day International rankings and their 1-1 draw against Afghanistan have not helped their cause of a direct qualification to 2019 World Cup which applies to the top eighth ranked teams. Currently, West Indies are with 77 points - 16 behind eighth placed Sri Lanka.

India will be fresh from the gruelling Champions Trophy campaign where they finished runners-up after losing the final to their arch-rivals Pakistan.

The first two games will be played on 23rd and 25th June in Trinidad and the remaining three games has been scheduled to be played in Antigua.

West Indies squad for first two ODIs:

Jason Holder (captain), Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shai Hope (wk), Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammad, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Kesrick Williams

© Cricket World 2017