< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West Indies T20I, ODI and Test squads for Afghanistan series: Hits and misses

Andre Russell
Andre Russell

West Indies gave their fans a lot of hope with a cracking start to the 2019 ODI World Cup, as their bowlers, Andre Russell and Oshane Thomas, in particular, blew away the Pakistan batting line-up and skittled them for around 100. The team then chased down the target easily.

Many considered them to be the dark horse of the tournament. But, nothing went as plan for them and the team ended at the second last place in the points table with only two wins from their nine matches.

Post the World Cup disappointment, West Indies hosted India for a full tour, including 3 ODIs, 2 Tests and 3 T20Is. However, a victory eluded the hosts as they were not able to register a win in even one of the eight games.

They will now look towards their tour of India, where Afghanistan will host them in Dehradun. The tour kicks off on November 5 with a three-match T20I series followed by three ODIs and the one-off Test.

Let's have a look at the hits and misses of the West Indies squad for T20Is, ODIs and Tests announced for the series against Afghanistan:


CPL performances rewarded

Brandon King and Hayden Walsh Jr, both of whom impressed in the recently concluded CPL 2019 have earned maiden call-ups to the West Indies squad. While Brandon King ended as the top run-scorer of the tournament, Hayden Walsh Jr picked up the most wickets this season. Romario Shepherd has also been included in ODIs on the back of his CPL performances.

Kieron Pollard named captain for ODIs and T20Is

While the West Indies selectors have given weightage to the CPL performances to young and upcoming talents, a few of the old guards of West Indian cricket have also made a comeback. Kieron Pollard, after impressing against India, has been named skipper in both ODIs and T20Is. His wealth of experience will hold the team in good stead in crunch situations. Lendl Simmons, who helped them win the 2016 T20 World Cup and was out of the side for a long time, has also returned to the squad.

Alzarri Joseph returns to all formats post injury

Alzarri Joseph is an upcoming name in West Indian cricket. In cricketing circles, he is regarded as someone who will add his name to the list of the West Indian fast bowling greats. The bowler impressed with a six-wicket haul on debut in the IPL but was injured soon. Joseph, now having fully recovered from his injury, finds a place in all the three squads.


Absence of Andre Russell and Sunil Narine

The absence of Andre Russell and Sunil Narine is a big setback for West Indian cricket. Both have not been included due to injuries. Narine made a mark in the Eliminator and Qualifier 2 in CPL 2019 but could not continue further due to his finger injury. Similarly, Andre Russell had a silent CPL 2019 and is carrying a few niggles as always. He could have been a match winner with both bat and ball and hence would be a big loss for the side.

Lack of quality batsmen in Test cricket

West Indies are struggling with proper Test batsmen. The two of their leading Test batsmen Darren Bravo and Kraigg Brathwaite have both been terribly out of form. While Darren Bravo has been dropped, Kraigg Brathwaite has retained his place. The quality of their Test batting is a sign of worry for the team as they repeatedly folded up without any resistance in their last Test series against India.

Shannon Gabriel out injured

While Kemar Roach is their highest wicket-taker in Test cricket in recent times, Shannon Gabriel, who bowls in excess of 145, remains their most formidable bowler. However, as was quite evident in the Test series against India, Gabriel has failed to prove his fitness and hence does not find himself in the Test squad.

Let's have a look at Windies' squads for all the three formats:

T20I squad- Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran, Evin Lewis, Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Holder, Lendl Simmons, Fabian Allen, Hayden Walsh Jr., Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Denesh Ramdin, Kesrick Williams, Alzarri Joseph

ODI squad- Kieron Pollard (c), Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Sunil Ambris, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Hayden Walsh Jr., Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Alzarri Joseph

Test squad- Jason Holder (c), Shai Hope, John Campbell, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Sunil Ambris, Jomel Warrican, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kemar Roach, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph

© Cricket World 2019