West Indies to take on New Zealand in opening game of U19 World Cup 2018

West Indies won their maiden U19 World Cup in the previous edition beating India
West Indies won their maiden U19 World Cup in the previous edition beating India

The International Cricket Council has announced the fixtures for the 2018 edition of Under-19 World Cup to be played in New Zealand in January and February.

Defending champions West Indies will lock horns with host New Zealand at Bay Oval in the opening day which also see Zimbabwe - Papua New Guinea and Bangladesh - Namibia taking on each other in Lincoln and Bert Sutcliffe Oval respectively.

The tournament that will run from 10th January to 3rd February will see a total of 16 teams split equally across four groups. The top 10 Test playing nations before the inclusion of Afghanistan and Ireland along with best performing associate team in the previous edition, Namibia gained an automatic qualification to the main round.

Africa qualifier Kenya, Canada, Papua New Guinea along with Bangladesh and Ireland comprise the remaining five sides.

Group A will contain West Indies, South Africa, New Zealand and Kenya while Group B comprises of India, Zimbabwe, Australia and Papua New Guinea.

Bangladesh, England, Namibia and Canada have been pooled in Group C and the remaining four teams, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Ireland will compete in Pool D.

The top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals while the remaining eight teams will compete in the Plate Championship. The final of the team has been scheduled on 3rd February and will also posses a reserve day.

© Cricket World 2017