< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West Indies tour of New Zealand 2020: Full squads, Fixtures & Preview: All you need to know

New Zealand
New Zealand

While West Indies were one of the first teams to play international cricket after its resumption post the Covid-19 break, New Zealand will play their first international fixture post the forced break.

Full Fixtures

Interestingly, New Zealand were the last team to play international cricket before the break. They played the first match of an ODI series against Australia, after which the remaining ones had to be cancelled.

The West Indies tour of New Zealand kicks off on Nov 27. After 3 T20Is and 2 Tests, the tour will conclude on Dec 15.

New Zealand have announced both their squads, with the big exclusions being Kane Williamson and Trent Boult. After featuring in the IPL, the duo was rested to keep them fresh for the Test series. 

The other New Zealand players who featured in the IPL, Lockie Ferguson, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner and Tim Seifert, are undergoing quarantine, which ends on November 26, just before the beginning of the T20Is.

New Zealand Cricket have recalled Glenn Phillips and handed a national team call-up to Kyle Jamiseon and Devon Conway. Colin Munro misses out due to his Big Bash commitments.

Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer and Keemo Paul, who were unavailable for the England tour, are back in the West Indies squad. While Shai Hope has been dropped for the Tests, Romario Shepherd replaces the injured Dwayne Bravo for the T20Is.


 Here are the squads of both teams:

New Zealand T20I Squad: Tim Southee (c), Hamish Bennett, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Seifert (wk), Ross Taylor

New Zealand Test Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wk), Will Young

West Indies T20I Squad: Kieron Pollard (c), Fabian Allen, Romario Shepherd, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr, Kesrick Williams

West Indies Test Squad: Jason Holder (c), Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer, Chemar Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul, Kemar Roach

West Indies Test Reserves: Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua DaSilva, Preston McSween, Shayne Moseley, Raymon Reifer, Jayden Seales


Here's the full schedule of the tour:

New Zealand v West indies - November 27th – December 15th 


November 27: 1st T20I at Eden Park, Auckland

November 29:  2nd T20I at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

November 30: 3rd T20I at Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

December 3-7: 1st Test at Seddon Park, Hamilton

December 11-15: 2nd Test at Basin Reserve, Wellington


© Cricket World 2020