West Indies Unchanged For Dominica

West Indies Unchanged For Dominica
West Indies Unchanged For Dominica
©WICB Media / Randy Brooks

West Indies have named an unchanged 13-man squad for the second Test against Zimbabwe, which begins in Dominica on Wednesday.

As well as the 11 that were on duty for the nine-wicket win in Barbados, the Guyanese pair of left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul and left-handed batsman and off-spinner Narsingh Deonarine are included.

The home side are unlikely to make any changes to their starting eleven, but, should they choose to do so, they may opt to play Permaul instead of either Shannon Gabriel or Tino Best given the spin-friendly reputation of the Dominica pitch. They may also consider the problems that Shane Shillingford posed Zimbabwe’s batsmen in Barbados.

As far as Zimbabwe are concerned, changes are likely. Regis Chakabva is a doubt with a finger injury which he picked up on day two, while Graeme Cremer’s place in under threat following a poor showing, especially as Brendan Taylor spoke of his wish for a third seamer in Barbados. The pitch in Dominica make yet save Cremer, although another man whose place is under pressure is Malcolm Waller, with Sean Williams his most likely replacement.

West Indies squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Denesh Ramdin (vice-captain), Tino Best, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Veerasammy Permaul, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Shane Shillingford.

© Cricket World 2013




Open an account with bet365 today and qualify for up to £200 in free bets with our fantastic 100% Deposit Bonus.