West Indies Unchanged For New Zealand Tests

Tino Best, West Indies
West Indies have named an unchanged Test squad to tour New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

The West Indies have named an unchanged 15-man squad for the three-Test series in New Zealand that gets underway in December.

Despite limping to a 2-0 series defeat in India after two comprehensive innings defeats, the selectors have opted to retain the same set of players for the New Zealand series.

The series begins in Dunedin on 3rd December before the series moves on to Wellington (11th-15th December) and Hamilton (19th-23rd December).

The West Indies play a New Zealand XI from 27th November, although part of their touring squad will still be playing in the ODI series in India, Aaron Redmond and Jeet Raval will open the batting for them in the absence of Chris Gayle, Darren Sammy and Darren Bravo.

Marlon Samuels and Shane Shillingford, who were both reported following the series in India for suspected illegal bowling actions, are both included in the squad as under ICC regulations, they are allowed to continue playing while independent analysis of their actions is carried out.

West Indies Test squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sheldon Cottrell, Narsingh Deonarine, Kirk Edwards, Chris Gayle, Veerasammy Permaul, Kieron Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Shane Shillingford, Chadwick Walton

© Cricket World 2013

Fixtures & Results

3rd-7th December: 1st Test, Dunedin
NZL 609-9 dec. & 79-4 drew with WIN 213 & 507
11th-15th December: 2nd Test, Wellington
NZL 441 beat WIN 193 & 175 by an inns. & 73 runs
19th-23rd December: 3rd Test, Hamilton
NZL 349 & 124-2 beat WIN 367 & 104 by 8 wickets
26th December: 1st ODI, Auckland
WIN beat NZL by 2 wickets
29th December: 2nd ODI, Napier
Match abandoned - rain
1st January: 3rd ODI, Queenstown
NZL 283-4 beat WIN 124-5 by 159 runs
4th January: 4th ODI, Nelson
NZL 285-6 beat WIN 134-5 by 59 runs (D/L)
8th January: 5th ODI, Hamilton
WIN 363-4 beat NZL 160 by 203 runs
11th January: 1st T20I, Auckland
NZL 189-5 beat WIN 108-8 by 81 runs
15th January: 2nd T20I, Wellington
NZL 163-6 beat WIN 159-5 by 4 wickets