< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West Indies vs Bangladesh, 1st Test Day 1: West Indies on top as bowlers demolish Bangladesh

Jermaine Blackwood
Jermaine Blackwood

West Indies produced a stellar exhibition of seam bowling to dismiss Bangladesh cheaply, and then made purposeful reply with the bat as they dominated the opening day on Thursday.

Match Summary

West Indies vs Bangladesh, 1st Test, Bangladesh tour of West Indies

West Indies *95/2 (48 ov)

Bangladesh 103/10 (32.5 ov)

Day Break : Day 1 West Indies trail by 8 runs



After winning the toss West Indies elected to bowl, striking with only the second ball, Mahmudul Hasan Joy gone for a duck.

Tamim Iqbal (29*), batting on for Bangladesh but unfortunately the wickets were falling around him.

Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque and Nurul Hasan added to the list of ducks as West Indies tore through the batting line-up.

Kemar Roach (2/21), Kyle Mayers (2/10), Jayden Seales (3/33) and Alzarri Joseph (3/33) were the standout bowlers for the Windies.

In reply,   the West Indies were 95/2, trailing by 8 runs.

Match Stats 

Bangladesh 1st Innings 

Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Mahmudul Hasan Joy - 0.2 ov), 2-3 (Nazmul Hossain Shanto - 2.1 ov), 3-16 (Mominul Haque - 5.1 ov), 4-41 (Tamim Iqbal - 13.6 ov), 5-41 (Liton Das - 14.4 ov), 6-45 (Nurul Hasan - 14.6 ov), 7-77 (Mehidy Hasan Miraz - 25.6 ov), 8-81 (Mustafizur Rahman - 27.4 ov), 9-103 (Shakib Al Hasan - 32.2 ov), 10-103 (Khaled Ahmed - 32.5 ov)

West Indies 1st Innings

Fall of wickets: 1-44 (John Campbell - 25.1 ov), 2-72 (Raymon Reifer - 33.5 ov)

Playing XIs

West Indies - Kraigg Brathwaite (C), John Campbell, Nkrumah Bonner, Jermaine Blackwood, Kyle Mayers, Joshua Da Silva (WK), Raymon Reifer, Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales

Bangladesh - Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan (C), Liton Das (WK), Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Khaled Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

Match Details

Date - 16th June, 15:00 PM

Venue - Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua

Toss - West Indies won the toss & elected to field

Umpires - Chris Gaffaney, Joel Wilson

© Cricket World 2022