< >
Cricket Betting us

WI v India 2nd ODI: Patel stars as India pull off a thriller to seal series

India pulled off a thrilling two-wicket win over West Indies in the second ODI to seal the three-match series on Sunday night.

At the Queen's Park Oval in Port of Spain, West Indies after opting to bat posted 311 for six in their 50 overs and in response India finished on 312 for eight in 49.4 overs.

Earlier, West Indies started off with a fine 65 run opening stand between Shai Hope and Kyle Mayers. Then after Mayers (39) fell, Hope added 62 runs for the second wicket with Shamarh Brooks (35). Hope then put on 117 runs for the fourth wiket with captain Nicholas Pooran. In the end Pooran fell for 74 off 77 balls with one boundary and six sixes. Hope finished on 115 off 135 balls with eight boundaries and three sixes in his 100th ODI. West Indies finished on 311 for six in their 50 overs. For India the best bowler was Shardul Thakur (3-54).

In their response, India lost their captain Shikhar Dhawan early. Then Shubman Gill (43) fell soon after. India was struggling at 79 for three when Shreyas Iyer teamed up with Sanju Samson. Iyer finished on 63 off 71 balls with four boundaries and a six. Samson thereafter teamed up with Deepak Hooda. But Samson was run out at a crucial juncture for 54 off 51 balls with three boundaries and three sixes. India was at 205 for five in 38.4 overs. Hooda (33) then added 51 runs for the sixth wicket with Axar Patel. In the end Patel remained unbeaten on 64 off 35 balls with three boundaries and five sixes. India overhauled the target in 312 for eight in 49.4 overs. For West Indies the best bowlers were Alzarri Joseph (2-46) and Mayers (2-48). 

Match Summary
West Indies: 311-6 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-65 (Kyle Mayers-9.1 ov), 2-127 (Shamarh Brooks-21.3 ov), 3-130 (Brandon King-22.5 ov), 4-247 (Nicholas Pooran-43.4 ov), 5-280 (Rovman Powell-46.4 ov), 6-300 (Shai Hope-48.5 ov)

India: 312-8 (49.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Shikhar Dhawan-10.6 ov), 2-66 (Shubman Gill-15.4 ov), 3-79 (Suryakumar Yadav-17.2 ov), 4-178 (Shreyas Iyer-32.6 ov), 5-205 (Sanju Samson-38.4 ov), 6-256 (Deepak Hooda-44.1 ov), 7-280 (Shardul Thakur- 45.5 ov), 8-304 (Avesh Khan-48.6 ov)

Result: India won by two wickets



Playing XI
India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan

West Indies: Shai Hope (wicket-keeper), Kyle Mayers, Shamarh Brooks, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran (captain), Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Akeal Hosein, Hayden Walsh, Alzarri Joseph, Jayden Seales

Match Details
Toss: West Indies, elected to bat
Venue: Queen's Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Start Time: 1430 hrs UK time
Match Officials: Gregory Brathwaite, Joel Wilson (On-field Umpires); Nigel Duguid (TV Umpire); Leslie Reifer (Reserve Umpire); Richie Richardson (Match-referee)

 © Cricket World 2022