< >
Cricket Betting us

West Indies vs India, 2nd ODI Preview: Taking confidence from batting effort, Windies gear up to challenge Dhawan-led India

West Indies vs India
West Indies vs India

With the true surfaces in Trinidad a big step up from the sluggish strips of Guyana, two more exciting ODIs are on the cards.

LIVE SCORES - West Indies vs India, 2nd ODI

Gill ahead of Kishan, Gaikwad

Most of the selection choices by both West Indies and India in the first ODI were along expected lines apart from a couple of surprises. India decided to go in with Shubman Gill ahead of both Ruturaj Gaikwad and Ishan Kishan as Shikhar Dhawan's opening partner which gives us some indication of the pecking order in ODIs.

Gill, to his credit, looked a class apart during his time at the crease. He was completely unfazed and the runs continued to flow.

No Arshdeep yet

India also preferred Mohammed Siraj and Prasidh Krishna over Avesh Khan and Arshdeep Singh. The selection of Shardul Thakur at number 8 was along expected lines to provide India with some batting depth.

Perhaps, Arshdeep Singh was a better option for India ahead of Krishna but there have been some doubts over his fitness. If the Punjab Kings bowler has recovered, he should make the XI in place of Krishna for this game.

Even though the lanky pacer was successful in the target defence towards the end in the first ODI, he hasn't been quite up to scratch in the few opportunities that he has got this summer, first in England and now here in the first ODI and needs to work on his game before being given another chance.

Holder tests positive for COVID-19

West Indies on the other hand had to do without Jason Holder who was added to the squad for the series after being rested for the one against Bangladesh. Holder tested positive for COVID-19 and may not take part in the remaining two matches of this ODI series.

India batted first in the series opener and Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill were in control all along as the team raced to 73 after the first 10 overs. While Gill was the aggressive partner, Shikhar Dhawan was quite content with leaving the balls outside the off stump.

Dhawan's still got it

Unfortunately for Team India, there were two dismissals against the run of play. First Gill was lax in his running between the wickets and paid the price with his run out at 64 off 53 balls. He was all set for his maiden ODI century but let it slip away.

Shikhar Dhawan was dismissed off 97, just three shy of his century, courtesy of a sensational catch by Shamarh Brooks. Shreyas Iyer then did well for his half century but was out in an attempt to up the ante. 

WI's best bowlers - Alzarri Joseph and Gudakesh Motie

West Indies came back well in the game towards the end and did not allow India to get a massive total. The visitors who were looking set for a score of around 350 at one point only reached 300, and that too courtesy of some late hits from Deepak Hooda and Axar Patel towards the end of the innings.

Alzarri Joseph and Gudakesh Motie were the pick of the bowlers for West Indies and bowled quite well towards the end of the Indian innings, picking up two wickets each.

WI's best batters - Kyle Mayers and Shamarh Brooks

After Mohammed Siraj bumped out Shai Hope early doors, West Indies were in complete control with Kyle Mayers and Shamarh Brooks cruising along. Had it not been for Shardul Thakur who dismissed both the batters in quick succession, West Indies might have finished the job in 45 overs or so. 

Despite good hands from Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Akeal Hosein and Romario Shepherd and the home side smashing 50 runs off the last five overs, they fell just 3 runs short of India's total.

India now lead the series 1-0. With the true surfaces in Trinidad a big step up from the sluggish strips of Guyana, two more exciting ODIs are on the cards.

Predicted Playing XIs

West Indies
- Shai Hope (wk), Brandon King, Shamarh Brooks, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran (c), Rovman Powell, Akeal Hosein, Romario Shepherd, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales

India - Shikhar Dhawan (c), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wk), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna

© Cricket World 2022