< >
Cricket Betting us

West Indies vs India, 3rd ODI: India beat West Indies by 200 runs to take series 2-1

Ishan Kishan (L) and Shubman Gill (R) got India off to a fast start in the ODI series decider
Ishan Kishan (L) and Shubman Gill (R) got India off to a fast start in the ODI series decider

India replied to all the critics in style as they registered a gigantic win over West Indies in the third ODI at Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba, Trinidad to win the series by the margin of 2-1. After being put into bat, India piled up a big total of 351 for five and then skittled the opposition out for just 150 runs to win the game by the margin of 200 runs

India had a blistering start with the bat as openers Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill came out with positive intent and smashed 142 runs for the opening partnership. Kishan smashed his third consecutive half-century of the series and ended with a knock of 77 runs off 64 balls, including eight boundaries and three sixes. Ruturaj Gaikwad, who batted at No.3, didn’t have the greatest of outings in the third ODI as he managed just five runs. But the real blitz came from the bat of Sanju Samson. The keeper-batter came out all guns blazing and smashed a quick 51 runs off 41 balls with the help of two boundaries and four sixes, stitching 69 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket with Gill, who played an anchor’s role and batted till the 39th over. He scored 85 runs off 92 balls with the help of eleven boundaries. Suryakumar Yadav (35: 30b, 2x4, 2x6) and Hardik Pandya (70 not out: 52b, 4x4, 5x6) then finished the innings on a high as India posted a mammoth total of 351 for five on the board. For West Indies, Romario Shepherd was the pick of the bowlers with his figures of two for 73 runs.

West Indies then had a horrendous outing with the bat as they looked clueless in the powerplay against the Indian pacer Mukesh Kumar, who picked Brandon King, Kyle Mayers and Shai Hope in his first four overs for scores of under ten. Jaydev Unadkat and Shardul Thakur too joined the wickets column as they bagged three quick wickets to leave the hosts tottering at 50 for six inside 14 overs. Allick Athanaze (32: 50b, 3x4) looked the most settled West Indian batter on the crease and tried his best to bail his team out of trouble but he was undone by the brilliance of Kuldeep Yadav, who then removed Yannic Cariah for 19 runs off 33 balls, including three boundaries. Alzarri Joesph (26: 39b, 1x4, 2x6) and Gudakesh Motie (39 not out: 34b, 4x4, 3x6) then played some blistering strokes and entertained the crowd with their 55-run partnership. But Indian bowlers closed the game perfectly to win the game by 200 runs and seal the series by the margin of 2-1. Shardul Thakur was the pick of the bowlers as he returned with the figures of four for 37 and was complemented well by Kuldeep Yadav and Mukesh Kumar, who took three wickets each.

Match Summary
India: 351-5 (50)
Fall of wickets: 1-143 (Ishan Kishan-19.4 ov), 2-154 (Ruturaj Gaikwad-22.6 ov), 3-223 (Sanju Samson-31.5 ov), 4-244 (Shubman Gill-38.4 ov), 5-309 (Suryakumar Yadav-46.5 ov)

West Indies: 151 (35.3)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Brandon King-0.5 ov), 2-7 (Kyle Mayers-2.6 ov), 3-17 (Shai Hope, 6.3 ov), 4-35 (Keacy Carty-10.5 ov), 5-40 (Shimron Hetmyer-11.6 ov), 6-50 (Romario Shepherd-13.6 ov), 7-75 (Alick Athanaze-21.1 ov), 8-88 (Yannic Cariah-23.4 ov), 9-143 (Alzarri Joseph-33.2 ov), 10-151 (Jayden Seales-35.3 ov)


Match Stats 

Playing XI
West Indies: Shai Hope (captain & wicket-keeper), Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Alick Athanaze, Shimron Hetmyer, Keacy Carty, Romario Shepherd, Yannic Cariah, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales

India: Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mukesh Kumar 

Match Details
Toss: West Indies, elected to field
Venue: Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad
Start time: 1330 hrs GMT
Match officials: Leslie Reifer, Michael Gough( On-field Umpires); Marais Erasmus (TV Umpire); Gregory Brathwaite (Reserve Umpire); Richie Richardson (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2023