< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WI v India 3rd ODI: India complete a series clean sweep over West Indies

West Indies vs India
West Indies vs India

India completed a clean sweep of the ODI series against West Indies with a massive 119 run win in the third and final ODI at the Queen's Park Oval in Port of Spain on Wednesday night.

Earlier, after opting to bat, India posted 225 for three in 36 overs. There were regular rain stoppages during the Indian innings which led to the innings being curtailed. Set a revised target of 257 as per the Duckworth Lewis and Stern (DLS) method in 35 overs, West Indies were bowled out for 137 in 26 overs.

Earlier, India was well served by a 113-run opening stand between captain Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill. Dhawan was first to be dismissed for 58 off 74 balls with seven boundaries. Then Gill added 86 runs for the second wicket with Shreyas Iyer. After rain break, Iyer fell for 44. Then towards the end Gill batted aggressively as he finished unbeaten on 98 off 98 balls with seven boundaries and two sixes. India finished on 225 for three in 36 overs. For West Indies the best bowler was Hayden Walsh (2-57).

In their response, West Indies were reduced to 0 for two. Then Brandon King added 47 runs for the third wicket with Shai Hope. Captain Nicholas Pooran held the innings together but it was not enough. West Indies lost wickets at regular intervals. Pooran and King finished on 42 the highest scorers of the innings. The others just did not put up the fight. West Indies were bowled out for 137 in 26 overs. For India the best bowlers were Yuzvendra Chahal (4-17), Mohammed Siraj (2-14) and Shardul Thakur (2-17). West Indies were bowled out for 137 in 26 overs.

Gill was voted the player of the match and the series.

The two teams will now face off in a five-match T20I series.

Match Summary
India: 225-3 (36)
Fall of wickets: 1-113 (Shikhar Dhawan-22.5 ov), 2-199 (Shreyas Iyer-32.2 ov), 3-211 (Suryakumar Yadav-33.5 ov)

West Indies: 137 (26)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Kyle Mayers-1.1 ov), 2-0 (Shamarh Brooks-1.3 ov), 3-47 (Shai Hope-9.5 ov), 4-74 (Brandon King-13.6 ov), 5-103 (Keacy Carty-18.6 ov), 6-119 (Nicholas Pooran-21.2 ov), 7-121 (Akeal Hosein-22.2 ov), 8-123 (Keemo Paul-23.2 ov), 9-137 (Hayden Walsh-25.2 ov), 10-137 (Jayden Seales-25.6 ov)


Result: India won by 119 runs, win series 3-0

Playing XIs
West Indies: Shai Hope (wicket-keeper), Kyle Mayers, Shamarh Brooks, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran (captain), Keacy Carty, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Akeal Hosein, Hayden Walsh, Jayden Seales

India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Queen's Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Start time: 1330 hrs GMT
Match officials: Joel Wilson, Nigel Duguid (On-field Umpires); Leslie Reifer (TV Umpire); Gregory Brathwaite (Reserve Umpire); Richie Richardson (Match-referee)

 © Cricket World 2022