< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WI v India 3rd T20I: SKY is the limit for India as they take a 2-1 lead

India took a 2-1 lead in the five-match T20I series with a seven-wicket win over West Indies in the third game at the Warner Park in St Kitts on Tuesday night.

Earlier after being asked to bat, West Indies posted 164 for five in 20 overs and in response India chased down the target in 19 overs to finish on 165 for three.

West Indies started off well with Kyle Mayers and Brandon King putting on 57 for the opening wicket. Mayers carried the innings forward with captain Nicholas Pooran as the air added 50 runs for the second wicket. Mayers finished on 73 off 50 balls with eight boundaries and four sixes. Towards the end West Indies finished on 164 for five as they lost wickets towards the end. For Inia the best bowler was Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2-35).

In their response India lost their captain Rohit Sharma to an injury. Then Suryakumar Yadav carried the innings forward with Shreyas Iyer. The first wicket fell with the score on 105. Yadav finished on 76 off 44 balls with eight boundaries and four sixes. Rishabh Pant carried the chase forward as he finished unbeaten on 33 off 26 balls with three boundaries and a six. In the end India chased down the target in 19 overs to finish on 165 for three. 

Match Summary
West Indies: 164-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-57 (Brandon King-7.2 ov), 2-107 (Nicholas Pooran-14.4 ov), 3-128 (Kyle Mayers-16.2 ov), 4-162 (Rovman Powell-19.3 ov), 5-163 (Shimron Hetmyer-19.5 ov)

India: 165-3 (19)
Fall of wickets: 0-19* (Rohit Sharma-retired hurt), 1-105 (Shreyas Iyer-11.3 ov), 2-135 (Suryakumar Yadav-14.3 ov), 3-149 (Hardik Pandya-17.2 ov)


Result: India won by seven wickets 

Hardik Pandya, Member, Indian Cricket Team, addressed a press conference at Warner Park, St Kitts after the 3rd T20I against West Indies.


Playing XIs
West Indies: Kyle Mayers, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shimron Hetmyer, Rovman Powell, Jason Holder, Dominic Drakes, Devon Thomas (wicket-keeper), Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Deepak Hooda, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Arshdeep Singh

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts
Start time: 1630 hrs GMT
Match officials: Nigel Duguid, Patrick Gustard (On-field Umpires) Leslie Reifer (TV Umpire); Gregory Brathwaite (Reserve Umpire); Richie Richardson (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022