< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

WI v India 4th T20I: India seal series with a comprehensive win

West Indies vs India, 4th T20I
West Indies vs India, 4th T20I

India sealed the five-match T20I series against West Indies with a 59 run win in the fourth game at Lauderhill in Florida on Saturday.

Asked to bat India posted 191 for five in their 20 overs and in response West Indies were bowled out for 132 in 19.1 overs.

India started off briskly as captain Rohit Sharma (33) and Suryakumar Yadav (24) added 53 for the opening wicket. Thereafter, Deepak Hooda added 47 runs for the third wicket with Rishabh Pant. Towards the end, Pant carried the innings forward as he made 44 off 31 balls with six boundaries. Sanju Samson remained unbeaten on 30 off 23 balls with two boundaries and one six. In the end India finished on 191 for five in 20 overs. For West Indies, the wicket-takers were Obed McCoy (2-66) and Alzarri Joseph (2-29).

In their response, West Indies lost wickets at regular intervals. There was no partnership of any note in the entire innings. In the powerplay, West Indies lost their top-order and were reduced to 49 for three. Nicholas Pooran (24) and Rovman Powell (24) were the top-scorers for the West Indies. But there was nothing from any of the other batters. The West Indies were finally bowled out for 132 in 19.1 overs. For India the wicket-takers were Arshdeep Singh (3-12), Avesh Khan (2-17), Ravi Bishnoi (2-27) and Axar Patel (2-48).

The fifth and final T20I will be played on Sunday.

Match Summary
India: 191-5 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-53 (Rohit Sharma-4.4 ov), 2-61 (Suryakumar Yadav-5.3 ov), 3-108 (Deepak Hooda-11.2 ov), 4-146 (Rishabh Pant-14.6 ov), 5-164 (Dinesh Karthik-18.1 ov)

West Indies: 132 (19.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Brandon King-1.4 ov), 2-22 (Devon Thomas-3.1 ov), 3-49 (Nicholas Pooran-4.6 ov), 4-64 (Kyle Mayers-6.6 ov), 5-82 (Rovman Powell-8.5 ov), 6-101 (Jason Holder-11.2 ov), 7-106 (Akeal Hosein-14.1 ov), 8-116 (Shimron Hetmyer-14.6 ov), 9-128 (Dominic Drakes-17.2 ov), 10-132 (Obed McCoy-19.1 ov)

Result - India won by 59 runs


Playing XIs

West Indies: Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran (captain), Rovman Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, Devon Thomas (wicket-keeper), Jason Holder, Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh

Match Details
Toss: West Indies, elected to field
Venue: Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill
Start time: 1500 hrs GMT
Match officials: Gregory Brathwaite, Patrick Gustard (On-field Umpires); Nigel Duguid (TV Umpire); Leslie Reifer (Reserve Umpire); Richie Richardson (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022