< >
Cricket Betting us

WI v India 5th T20I: India's spinners weave magic to seal fifth T20I

India completed a 4-1 series win over West Indies with a massive 88 run triumph in the fifth and final T20I at the Lauderhill in Miami on Sunday night.

After opting to bat, India posted 188 for seven in their 20 overs and in response, West Indies was bowled out for 100 in 15.4 overs.

Earlier, India started off briskly through Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer (64: 40b, 8x4, 2x6). Then, Iyer added 76 runs for the second wicket with Deepak Hooda (38). After Iyer fell, the innings was carried forward by stand-in skipper Hardik Pandya who finished on 28 off 16 balls. In the end India finished on 188 for seven in their 20 overs. For West Indies the best bowler was Odean Smith (3-33).

In their response West Indies lost stand-in opener Jason Holder off the third ball. The West Indies lost wickets at regular intervals as the spinners had a stranglehold on the chase. The West Indies innings was struggling at 50 for four. Then Rovman Powell added 33 runs for the fifth wicket with Shimron Hetmyer (56: 35b, 5x4, 4x6). In the end West Indies innings just did not take off as they were bowled out for a mere 100 in 15.4 overs. The best bowlers for India were Ravi Bishnoi (4-16), Kuldeep Yadav (3-12) and Axar Patel (3-15). This was the first time all 10 wickets in a T20I innings was claimed by spinners.

Patel was named Player of the match, while Arshdeep Singh earned the player of the series award. 

Match Summary
India: 188-7 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Ishan Kishan-4.3 ov), 2-114 (Deepak Hooda-11.4 ov), 3-122 (Shreyas Iyer-12.6 ov), 4-142 (Sanju Samson-15.2 ov), 5-158 (Dinesh Karthik-17.2 ov), 6-181 (Hardik Pandya-19.1 ov), 7-187 (Axar Patel-19.4 ov)

West Indies: 100 (15.4)
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Jason Holder-0.3 ov), 2-24 (Shamarh Brooks-4.2 ov), 3-33 (Devon Thomas-4.6 ov), 4-50 (Nicholas Pooran-7.5 ov), 5-83 (Rovman Powell-11.3 ov), 6-88 (Keemo Paul-11.4 ov), 7-89 (Dominic Drakes-12.1 ov), 8-89 (Odean Smith-12.4 ov), 9-100 (Shimron Hetmyer-15.1 ov), 10-100 (Obed McCoy-15.4 ov)


Result: India won by 88 runs, claim series 4-1

 India tour of West Indies

Playing XIs
West Indies: Shamarh Brooks, Devon Thomas (wicket-keeper), Nicholas Pooran (captain), Rovman Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul, Jason Holder, Odean Smith, Obed McCoy, Dominic Drakes, Hayden Walsh

India: Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya (captain), Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi  

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to bat
Venue: Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill
Start Time: 15:30 hrs GMT
Match Officials: Gregory Brathwaite, Leslie Reifer (On-field Umpires); Patrick Gustard (TV Umpire); Nigel Duguid (Reserve Umpire); Richie Richardson (Match-referee)

©Cricket World 2022