< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West Indies vs South Africa, 1st Test: South Africa take initiative as 14 wickets fall on Day 1

South Africa's Lungi Ngidi 5-19
South Africa's Lungi Ngidi 5-19

South Africa took the initiative as 14 wickets fell on the first day of the 1st Test between the West Indies and South Africa,at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet today.

West Indies v South Africa 1st Test

West Indies 97/10 (40.5 ov)

South Africa *128/4 (43 ov)

Close of Play: South Africa lead by 31 runs




Match Day Highlights

West Indies won the toss and decided to bat and were completely undone by the Proteas pace bowlers - Lungi Ngidi 5-19 and  Anrich Nortje 4-35 – and were bundled out for just 97 in their 1st Innings.

Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Shai Hope - 11.4 ov), 2-31 (Kraigg Brathwaite - 13.2 ov), 3-45 (Nkrumah Bonner - 24.1 ov), 4-46 (Kyle Mayers - 25.6 ov), 5-56 (Jermaine Blackwood - 29.4 ov), 6-56 (Roston Chase - 30.1 ov), 7-56 (Joshua Da Silva - 30.5 ov), 8-74 (Rahkeem Cornwall - 34.1 ov), 9-80 (Kemar Roach - 36.1 ov), 10-97 (Jason Holder - 40.5 ov)

South Africa were 128/4 at the close with a lead of 31 runs with 6 wickets in hand. Aiden Markram top scored with 60 and Jayden Seales 3-34 was the pick of the bowlers for the West Indies.

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Dean Elgar - 0.5 ov), 2-34 (Keegan Petersen - 9.6 ov), 3-113 (Aiden Markram - 38.1 ov), 4-119 (Kyle Verreynne - 40.3 ov)



Playing XIs

West Indies - Kraigg Brathwaite(c), Shai Hope, Nkrumah Bonner, Kyle Mayers, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Joshua Da Silva(wk), Jason Holder, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales

South Africa - Aiden Markram, Dean Elgar(c), Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Quinton de Kock(wk), Wiaan Mulder, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje


Match Details

Start Time: 15:00

Toss: West Indies won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet

Officials: Gregory Brathwaite, Joel Wilson, Leslie Reifer, Nigel Duguid, Richard Richardson

©Cricket World 2021