< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West Indies vs South Africa, 5th T20I: South Africa bowlers strangle West Indies batsmen to take series 3-2

South Africa players celebrate
South Africa players celebrate

The South Africa bowlers strangled the Windies batting line-up, winning the 5th and final T20I, to take the series 3-2, today at the National Cricket Stadium, St. George's Grenada.

Match Summary

West Indies 143/9 (20 ov)

South Africa 168/4 (20 ov)

Result - South Won by 25 runs





Match Highlights

South Africa won the toss and decided to bat in the series deciding finale against the West Indies, at the National Cricket Stadium, St. George's Grenada. The Proteas totalled a par 168/4 in their 20 overs with  Quinton de Kock   60 and Aiden Markram 70 top scoring.

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Temba Bavuma - 0.3 ov), 2-128 (Quinton de Kock - 14.1 ov), 3-144 (Aiden Markram - 16.3 ov), 4-149 (Rassie van der Dussen - 17.2 ov)

In the run chase, the West Indies batting did not fire today and they fell short by 25 runs. Top bowling from the South Africa bowlers though.

Fall of wickets: 1-20 (Lendl Simmons - 2.1 ov), 2-65 (Chris Gayle - 7.1 ov), 3-75 (Evin Lewis - 9.3 ov), 4-110 (Kieron Pollard - 14.3 ov), 5-110 (Andre Russell - 14.4 ov), 6-125 (Shimron Hetmyer - 17.2 ov), 7-140 (Dwayne Bravo - 18.2 ov), 8-140 (Nicholas Pooran - 18.3 ov), 9-142 (Obed McCoy - 19.2 ov)



Playing XIs


West Indies - Evin Lewis, Lendl Simmons, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran(wk), Kieron Pollard(c), Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Akeal Hosein, Obed McCoy, Fidel Edwards

South Africa - Quinton de Kock(wk), Temba Bavuma(c), Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, George Linde, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi Bjorn Fortuin


Match Details

Start Time: 19:00

Toss: South Africa won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: National Cricket Stadium, St. George's

Officials: Gregory Brathwaite, Joel Wilson, Leslie Reifer, Nigel Duguid, Richard Richardson



 © Cricket World 2021