< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

West Indies Women vs South Africa Women, 2nd T20I: South Africa Women beat West Indies Women by 50 runs

Lizelle Lee scored 75
Lizelle Lee scored 75

South Africa Women beat West Indies Women by 50 runs in the 2nd T20I to take a 1-0 lead in the series.

Match Summary

West Indies Women 115/8 (20 ov)

South Africa Women 165/3 (20 ov)

Result - South Africa Women won by 50 runs




The West Indies Women lost the 2nd CG Insurance T20 International against South Africa Women by 50 runs at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua.

West Indies Women's Head Coach Courtney Walsh told CWI Media "We didn't play as well as know we can nor expected to play. They got too many runs up front and then when we batted... our batting went through the door. Hopefully we've learnt a lot from it, some good areas to look at. One or two players had good starts, the strike rates we were looking at, a couple of the players achieved it, so it's not doom and gloom but... we didn't play as well as we should have. We have one more game to play to draw the series and then five more matches in the ODI series, so we have more cricket to play"

South Africa take a 1-0 series lead with the final match on Saturday August 4 at the same venue.

The five CG Insurance ODIs will be played from September 7 to 19, with the first three matches being played at the Coolidge Cricket Ground (CCG) and the last two at the SVRCG.

Playing XIs

West Indies Women (Playing XI): Deandra Dottin, Hayley Matthews, Kyshona Knight, Kycia Knight(w), Chedean Nation, Britney Cooper, Aaliyah Alleyne, Anisa Mohammed(c), Shakera Selman, Shamilia Connell, Qiana Joseph

South Africa Women (Playing XI): Lizelle Lee, Laura Wolvaardt, Dane van Niekerk(c), Sune Luus, Tazmin Brits, Marizanne Kapp, Chloe Tryon, Trisha Chetty(w), Masabata Klaas, Ayabonga Khaka, Nonkululeko Mlaba


Match Details

Date - Thursday, September 02, 2021

Toss - West Indies Women won the toss and decided to field

Time - 7:00 PM

Venue - Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua

Umpires - Danesh Ramdhanie, Jonathan Blades

©Cricket World 2021